PDA

View Full Version : Copying to newly formatted RAID 0 crashes machine



schalliol
04-30-2001, 09:30 AM
I'm just having all the luck...

Ok, so the machine now works in general, but now when I copy to the array, it crashes the machine. I guess there's some config problem.

I have two 'cudas and a miles2 in a G4/733. I formatted the drives with SoftRAID and set a stripe. I don't know why it would crash when configured like this. It worked fine on the now sold 9600.

magician
04-30-2001, 11:31 AM
update Miles2 firmware to 1.06b or later, and reinitialize each drive using SoftRAID 2.2.2.

it should be that simple.

if not, check your cables and connections.

schalliol
04-30-2001, 11:40 AM
Mag,

Thanks,

I updated it last August, I'll check the version. I'll reformat and see! - Jon

jorge
04-30-2001, 04:22 PM
is it crashing or taking a very long time? Miles2 is very slow in the audio G4s I found. Initio has purchased a DP 533 for testing.

j

schalliol
04-30-2001, 04:34 PM
It has been crashing. I'll format now...

schalliol
04-30-2001, 04:59 PM
That seemed to help. I'll let you know if I have any more problems. Thanks!