PDA

View Full Version : 3 disk internal raid?



henry
03-26-2001, 02:03 PM
I'm setting up a G4 for video. Got a Miles2. How about striping 3 drives internally?
Parhaps 3- 18 or 36gig Barracuda's or Cheeta's. I'll be doing firewire initially but may invest in a realtime or low compression videoboard in the near future.Any thoughts? (softraid 2.3)

jorge
03-26-2001, 05:28 PM
The G4s max out at 3 internal hard drives. You can split one of the power connectors with a y adapter to give power to a 4th drive.

Are you going to keep the internal ide drive in place? You are aware you cannot boot from a raid in the G3 / G4 machines correct? Might be best connecting two 36 Gb Cheetahs to a Miles2 or an Atto card which is 64 bit and utilizes the PCI bus in the G4s.

j

PENDRAGON18
04-09-2001, 08:40 PM
Looks like Jorge is close.

You can install 4 HDs internally in the bottom slots. There are 3 'rows', but one is doublestacked. Then you have the DVD + possible ZIP - and you might get away with installing a drive on top of the DVD, but that is pushing it http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So you could keep your stock drive and have a 3 drive RAID-0 for fast storage/data transfer. Of course a single large volume is not so flexible. For best performance I would get a 15K 18G cheetah to boot. Make two paritions - a ~4G boot partition - and do whatever you want with the other ~12G. Small fast paritions are very quick for things like Disk First Aid and other Uts to diagnose. Those 15x are so fast you may not even notice Disk 1st Aid running before its over http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

You can not boot from a Stripped RAID on the YOSEMITE (blue&whiteG3) or newer, but I'm nearly positive you can boot from a MIRRORED RAID-1 in any of the new macs. Of course since I'm poor and can not afford the X15's (yet) I usually stripe for speed and size - a 10K drive is fast for me http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Cabling can be tricky in these cases. I would advise you to get GRANITE TWISTED PAIR cable with active term. Usually I will get a cable that can handle all the drives + 1 + term, so in your case that would be a 6 plug cable - 5 for the drives + the term. The thing with Miles is you ALREADY get a 3 (or is it 4?) plug cable with term and its twisted pair. TP is not an abosulte, but I ALWAYS get it (unless I find something REALLY cheap - yet good - FOX COMM!-). I have run up to 12 drives off a miles a few internal + most external all with GRANITE Twisted pair. I dont really know any individual that can afford 15 high end SCSI drives anyway -so that Miles can work for years... decades. Anybody know about support for X????

Of course if you max out the slots and want to OC your CPU then you may want to try to keep it cool...

------------------
Have fun storming the castle!