PDA

View Full Version : Soft Raid and Initio Smart SCSI problem



bvint
03-24-2001, 08:17 AM
I have a blue and white G3 and use a Miles 2 card with ribbond cable termination and internal Seagate Barracuda ST150176LW. Because I wasn't happy with the performance I was getting using Aurora Fuse for video capture I played with the parameters. I set in my Miles Smart SCSI application the host adapter ID to 0 (the default is 7) .. since then everytime I open the Smart SCSI application to rectify the parameters it freezes. I have reinstalled the application including the SoftRaid drivers and the situation persists witn no improvement. Has any one got a clue about a solution to my problem ... Also how can I check what is wrong in my SCSI chain that it doesn't deliver even 6.5 MB/s with my Aurora Fuse video capture card. Are there any know incompatibility issues ?
My Smart SCSI is v 1.5 and SoftRaid is v 2.2.2 OS is 9.0.


Cheers..

BoB

Louie
03-24-2001, 04:19 PM
Please don't double post. I've answered this same question in another forum.

MacMikester
03-24-2001, 04:20 PM
Hey Bob,

Assuming you boot from the Seagate, Try booting of a CD or other disk besides the Seagate on the Miles card. Then open the SmartSCSI application and change the setting (then leave it at 7!). If you still can't boot off a secondary, try disconnecting the Seagate and try again. If you still can't boot off a secondary, try pulling the Miles card and try again. That should do it.

Download ATTO Express Pro Tools from the Gurus ftp site if you don't have it and tell us what read write performance numbers you see with your hard drive. SmartSCSI should show max sync rate-80, Disconnect Enable(yes), Wide Negotiation(yes), Parity(yes).

The Fuse maxes throughput on capture at 9 Mb/s with a fast G3/G4 so 6.5 MB/s don't sound too bad to me. How much RAM do you have?

tm311
03-24-2001, 04:41 PM
i tried updating my firmware to 1.06 and got the same crash as Bob. i am using 9.1 with softraid.

MacMikester
03-25-2001, 07:22 PM
Hey tm,

Did you disconnect all devices from the Miles card first before trying to flash the firmware, or does your SmartSCSI just crash when you open it?

tm311
03-25-2001, 08:01 PM
i did not disconnect.....is that the prefered way to flash? I have always flashed connected in the past...............let me try and i'll get back to you. I crash as soon as i select "1st card"

[This message has been edited by tm311 (edited 25 March 2001).]

Louie
03-25-2001, 09:08 PM
The Startup Disk Control Panel in 9.1 changes your NVRAM if you have other systems. There is an update posted by Apple on Friday; may help

You don't need Initio firmmware 1.06b unless you have X15 Cheetahs with 0002 firmware.

[This message has been edited by Louie (edited 25 March 2001).]

kaye
03-26-2001, 01:16 PM
Louie,

I have a 10k Cheetah (ST39204LW) with 0002 firmware that will cause SmartSCSI to hang unless Initio firmmware 1.06b is installed. In fact, it is that very drive that necessitated taking my S900 to Initio and resulted in 1.06b. So it is at least a current shipping model Cheetah problem with 0002, I don't know about current shipping model LW Barracudas. k

Louie
03-26-2001, 03:59 PM
Oh; I thought it was 0002 firmware on 15k Cheetahs only. The firmware on my 10k Cheetah is 0006.

kaye
03-26-2001, 04:17 PM
Didn't you get that 10k Cheetah... never mind, just kidding. I have three of those 10k Cheetahs, two are 0001, which started out in my S900. Then purchased a third, 0002. SmartSCSI hung on scan. S900 to Initio. k