PDA

View Full Version : Brave enough to flash OEM ATTO UL3D?



Mas
03-15-2001, 02:29 PM
Dear everyone,
You probably know that the Retrospect issue with the APPLE
OEM EPCI-UL3D adapter...

There is a firmware version that can overwrite the OEM
firmware and make the adapter compatible with Retrospect.

Not only for Retrospect, but updating firmware does a trick for its performance? What do you think?

Driver version is 1.6.3. Sound's good!

HOWEVER, Attotech said
"The firmware attach will void your APPLE warranty. We do not support this.
You can flash at your own risk. It was originally posted to make the
Excrix tape with Retrospec. Good Luck."

"Good Luck"? Shall I risk it? or worth doing it? Am I brave enough?
I guess not all of you have OEM UL3D.
But I need your opinions, true Gurus!
Mas

kaye
03-15-2001, 10:21 PM
IMO, that is a pretty expensive card to take a chance with. I have two UL3D's that aren't OEM. Too expensive to try something unsupported and which voids the warranty. My 2 cents. k

batmantis00
03-15-2001, 10:31 PM
hmmm...ive flashed lots of cd roms, dvd roms, etc. nothing terribly valuable though. never had a problem...if you have access to an uninteruptable power supply, use it. i think if you have a stable machine and shut down all other tasks nothing inside your computer is likely to go wrong, but if you live in california and might have a black out, beware. if you are still under apple warrantee, that changes things significantly. warrantees are expensive, so thats a big loss if you still have alot of time left till it expires. that should be a major factor.

on the other hand, i flashed my dvd rom last nite and now its region free!

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/dance.gif http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Mas
03-16-2001, 05:14 PM
Thanks,
I flashed it, Apple System Profiler shows 1.6.3f1 now.(what's f1?)
So it was successful and there is no problem yet.
Performance? I don't know...

BTW, batmantis
How do you flash DVD drive to be region free?
I didn't know that!

Mas

batmantis00
03-16-2001, 09:16 PM
a while ago i typed up a LONG explanation of how to make your dvd rom region-free, but during that time i got disconnected from the internet. by the time i finished, my brother was on the phone. i left and made lunch while waiting for him to get off. In the mean time, he hung up, got on the internet, and closed the window with the explanation. I dont have the tenacity to type it again, so instead i will post the 3 links that you want to have to do it your self. with a little browsing, downloading and reading of readme files, you should be able to figue it all out. if not, post a question and ill get back to it.
http://www169.pair.com/lukifer/dvd.html
http://web.tiscalinet.it/thinkdifferent/
http://perso.club-internet.fr/farzeno/firmware/

-bat

Mas
03-23-2001, 09:25 PM
Hello again,
I did update 1.6.1f1 OEM ATTO UL3D to 1.6.3f1.
I did not find any differences...much...

But one thing, sleeping by pressing power b.
Display hungs and lock-up. Mouse moves but nothing, forced to restart.

I did everythig to fix, finally I got it back to 1.6.1f1 again. Solved!

After re-launch the system, it takes time to go sleep(HDs spin down and one of HD spins up while display remains, then go sleep.
After the second time, it goes sleep streight.

So I stay with 1.6.1 as default, supported...