PDA

View Full Version : Irix RAID alternatives



Stephen Clark
02-27-2001, 01:34 PM
Now that MicroNet's belly up, what are my alternatives for RAID storage replacement? Any other hardware RAID
frames available? Is software RAID possible? Can ATA/IDE be made to function on an Irix box?

I have a 20Gb (I know, not much by today's standards but it's over five years old) DataDock7000 that I don't
want to rely on much longer & need to replace.

magician
02-27-2001, 06:52 PM
for Irix?

oh, boy. Maybe Medea. They have issues on the Mac, but they may also support Irix. No telling how well.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ChrisYip
02-27-2001, 11:06 PM
Hmmm

For IRIX? - well I suppose you could use one of those ArenaRAID boxes if you want to go that route. I know that the bioinformatics guys here have those things hooked up to their SUN and *nix machines - they'd better - they have 220 dual processor PIII machines each w/ 1.5 GB of RAM on their Beowolf type cluster.

Chris

Dogstarman
02-27-2001, 11:24 PM
http://www.fantomdrives.com/main_site/raid_arrays/raidcip/professional/hwprofindex.html#lvd

What do you folks think of these folks?

Stephen Clark
02-28-2001, 09:53 AM
Hmmm... thanks. I'm going to check into both Medea and the Fantom products. Fantom has a mention on today's MacIntouch page.
Coincidence can be a wonderful thing if the timing's right, eh?

Whatever became of HammerStorage?

Louie
02-28-2001, 12:18 PM
Here's what happened to Hammer Storage http://www.rorke.com/hammer/ .

magician
02-28-2001, 10:08 PM
we've had one of those arrays in the basement for the past four months. We need to work more with it to understand why it is so slow, and see if we can't tweak it up a little--particularly when you consider the expense.

we also need to work with the firmware a little more, to ensure we understand why RAID 5 fails so frequently to correctly integrate replacement drives into the array.

when we consider the comparable performance of RAID 1, and its much lower cost, we feel no true sense of urgency to find something which may not exist: a completely Mac-compatible RAID 5 that is robust, fast, affordable, stable and reliable. We were encouraged by Micronet arrays, despite their high cost, but Micronet recently went out of business.

for RAID 0, our solutions deliver much better performance at a lower price-point. And our solutions use superior components.

our stuff just isn't as pretty as it needs to be. We're working on it.

ChrisYip
02-28-2001, 11:58 PM
Just a curious observation - check out this site: http://www.raidweb.com/

and compare it with what the Fantom drives look like...

..Not sure who came first but the stuff on the raidweb site is what I was looking at about 3 years ago...is this just a case of OEM'ing systems to other integrators?.

Chris

magician
03-02-2001, 01:44 AM
those are all Arena arrays, just like the one we're working with in the basement. We're sending it back to the owner. We can't make it work, and we're tired of messing with it. It may be a defective unit. We'll see.

pricing on those things is outrageous.

ChrisYip
03-02-2001, 07:46 AM
I know - about the only way to make them cheaper is to just buy the backplane and then hope for super discount sales on IDE drives...

I guess it comes down to whether you really need to run a Raid 5, if not, then the "Roll Your Own Raid (0/1)" approach is, in my opinion, the most economical and fun way of doing it...

Chris

magician
03-02-2001, 05:14 PM
we still think so, too, Chris. And we're a little upset about it.

you'd think that SOMEONE would care enough about this market to build an affordable, rock-solid, COMPATIBLE, and trouble-free RAID 5 for the Mac.

if I get over myself, we'll try swapping out this Arena array we have here now, and see if it gets any better. If not...who knows.

now you see where I am coming from, Michael?

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

[This message has been edited by magician (edited 02 March 2001).]