PDA

View Full Version : any knowledge of fibre channel?



despaxas
11-29-2000, 06:09 AM
I went to our Goodwill computer store to pick up some drive sleds and screws and such and noticed 2 8gig barracudas for $40 each. They are fibre channel which I know nothing about. Anything I should know about fibre channel? Incompatabilities and such? I'll probably put it in one of my 7500's. I would assume there is a down side since I see nothing about it on the site. Any suggestions? They said they work fine and are returnable, and at that price, what's to lose.

PENDRAGON18
11-29-2000, 09:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I would assume there is a down side since I see nothing about it on the site.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
You assume correctly. I dont know much about it either... its fast, its EXPENSIVE and I dont think there are ANY Mac interfaces. Its probably only 1,000Mbps fibre channel anyway. It's kinda like 80pin SCA SCSI - in that its for servers and its expensive and there are no 'good' Mac interfaces. Occasionally you can get really 'good' deals on these kinda of things, but you soon find the deal aint so good. I could be off base, but I dont think so.

A dual channel U160 would give you 320MB/s or 2,560Mbps max sustained throughput http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Gurus has only achieved 200MB/s on a Sawtooth Mac http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Your system is probably limited to about 70MB/s - but thats still 560Mbps http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif - NOT BAD!

------------------
Have fun storming the castle!

Michael
11-29-2000, 10:25 AM
you're rightabout one thing. expensive. actually the advantage of fibre array technology is it's shared storage capacity. when you have a few stations such as video post stations that need storage, one centralized fibre array makes sense. for a stand alone, the cost is prohibitive.
just to give you an idea. the system i have worked on is made by Emulex. it's for the mac. it incorporates a card, cable, and software (Charismac). that alone will run around $3,000.
i don't know of any cheaper/consumer oriented systems. this one works fine. has a great interface and rarely crashes. (in video crashes are fairly common)
i wonder just what is meant by fibre channel drives. in most fibre arrays, the drives are normal drives (the studio uses 10,000 and 15,000 rpm cheetahs)

maybe you can use your drives in a regular SCSI array. i don't know what you've got. it just sounds like someone threw a tag on a couple of drives that may have once been in a fibre array.

M

PENDRAGON18
11-29-2000, 10:48 AM
WOW there are fibre channel solutions for the Mac?

I wounder if those Cudas are Fibre native? Maybe its like Firewire? Maybe they could be adapted for a reasonable cost?

Looks like Firewire may supplant Fibre channel in the small office RAID/prosumer level. 400Mbps isnt bad and its much more flexible than SCSI. Of course I would bet Firewire needs to go to 800/1600Mbps soon to actually compete on the PRO level. I bet Mr. Jobs added 1000BaseT to the new macs so they could move a TON of data over the network - for PIXAR. 1000BaseT is only 125MB/s, but for a digitial studio I bet that is still not enough.

SAN-Cube and I think VST have a fibre sytle Firewire setup. Mass/Fast storage for 1 to 6 users.

Hey despaxas - you could plug them in and use them as mini-heaters http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

magician
11-29-2000, 02:05 PM
ATTO makes fibre channel hosts.

they are expensive, indeed.

despaxas
11-30-2000, 05:24 AM
Hmmm .... Now I wonder what they really are. They were in anti-static bags in a glass case so I could not see the connectors. There was just a sticker that said 8 gig fibre channel. Through the open ends I could see where it said barracuda and a model number which I should have written down. If I'm still awake in the morning, I'll go back and take them out of the bags. No such thing as having too many hd's.

Michael
11-30-2000, 10:42 AM
let us know. we're intrigued.

M

MacMikester
11-30-2000, 07:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>you're rightabout one thing. expensive. actually the advantage of fibre array technology is it's shared storage capacity. when you have a few stations such as video post stations that need storage, one centralized fibre array makes sense. for a stand alone, the cost is prohibitive.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Shared storage, yes, but with cable distances measured in kilometers instead of meters http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[This message has been edited by MacMikester (edited 30 November 2000).]

Michael
11-30-2000, 07:47 PM
ever looked underneath a video post house floor?
http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

M

magician
12-01-2000, 02:28 AM
the cabling gets real expensive, too.

despaxas
12-01-2000, 03:45 AM
Well, I braved horrid traffic and zombie-like reflexes to find they are fibre channel native. 7,200 rpm ST19171FC. Does the ST1 mean it is first generation? Probably old being 7,200. $1,000-1,300 is nuts for a card anyway. Cableing on top of that, HA! Oh well, if anybody can use them, I can pick them up and send them, but it doesn't look like anyone does. I can't stand to see a deal go to waste. That must be why I'm surrounded by crap. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Michael
12-01-2000, 09:24 AM
a deal is only a deal if you can use it.
it you can't then it's just an extravagance.

M

PENDRAGON18
12-01-2000, 09:37 AM
Like I said... they should make great bun warmers http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

The Barracudas are all 7200RPM so the drives could be relatively new... only the Cheetahs are 10K and 15K-RPM that Seagate Makes. I havent figured out the model #skeem yet, but I bet Gurus has.

Hey, if you cann connect these drives to a Fibre channel card Kilometers away - then you could just 'rent' the HD space and have someone build out the cabling from their office ! http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

------------------
Have fun storming the castle!

magician
12-01-2000, 11:44 AM
those are half-height drives, a couple years old, I guess.

that's not so bad, but you have to remember that hardware years are like dog-years. They run a little warm. Not terrible, but you need to keep an eye on them.

I'd surf around eBay and places like that for liquidated fibre channel controllers. Probably your best bet would be an ATTO, as they are still supported (with the caveat that ATTO defines the term "support" differently than you or I), meaning it is still possible to get drivers for them, and you have a distant hope of actually corresponding with someone about such a card in the event you encounter problems. (I wouldn't expect more than platitudes from tier-one ATTO tech support, but we have successfully put flame-throwers up their butts in the past and been expeditiously escalated to more knowledgable resources in the infrastructure).

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

despaxas
12-02-2000, 01:18 AM
I might browse around ebay and look for cards. They have been there almost two weeks, so I didn't get them. Maybe something will happen.