PDA

View Full Version : Video Editing Array

jmikey
07-20-2002, 07:03 PM
Does anybody know how to compare, or have opinions about, an internal PCI, 2-drive, ATA/100 Raid 0 setup and a FireWire set-up using Miglia Media Bank using the same drives, for video editing?

I'm a beginner, and was thinking about a RAID array using a couple of 80G or 100G drives.

I had pretty much discounted FireWire for video but Gurus seems to be pretty enthusiastic about the 2-channel Miglia Media Bank.

Dick Brillo
07-22-2002, 01:13 PM
I ask myself those questions all the time...

Should I create a wick fast SCSI RAID a la Guru? Or will a ATA do? OR can I just use FireWire? For me it comes down to money. In all my personal research I really believe the ATA RAID will be totally fine for capturing and editing miniDV with something like Final Cut Pro in whatever tower you have. DV really is not that speed demanding, honestly. If you put this question over on the SCSI or RAID forums you'll get different opinions. All of them very vaild--scalablity of SCSI, quality of equipment, speed etc...

But you know, I just made a 16 minute film, in Final Cut Pro 3, from 6 hours of raw footage using an iBook and an EZ Quest 80GB Firewire Hard Drive. So it makes you wonder do I need all that stuff?

Just my humble $0.02

jmikey
07-23-2002, 05:20 PM
Dick......That's a good $.02. That's what I was wanting to hear..someone with experience in the matter.

I know what you mean about the Gurus RAID & SCSI forums..the Gurus are at the top of the game...Lamborghini, whereas, I'm Isuzu Trooper. I would love to have SCSI, but can't.

You also mentioned miniDV, which is what I'm interested in. I'm trying to edit about 8 hours that I shot for a friend's daughter's wedding/reception on a XL1. I'm not a video pro...just tinkering...but I would like to produce a professional-looking result since he spent a fortune on the rest. It would be a good gift.

Your comments were helpful...thanks.

Dick Brillo