PDA

View Full Version : piping tivo into a dually



kjay
08-04-2002, 10:24 PM
hello all,

well, i finally stepped up a purchased a miglia analog>dv box and was wondering on the pros and cons of various home wiring scenarios. my goal is to dump all the stuff i've been storing on the tivo onto dvd's with the superdrive on my new dually.

the setup;

my tivo/av reciever sits approx 40'-50' away in the next room (up the wall, across the attic, down the wall). i was considering using possibly quad shield RG6 coax for audio. would this be appropriate for the video as well? would using cat5 cable and going s-video yield me better picture quality? is there a cost effective way to run firewire 50' and what are the benefits?

i'm not looking for hdtv stuff here but obviously i would like the best picture possible.

thanks
kj

crazyeights
08-04-2002, 11:08 PM
Hi kjay......

....... I don't have the answer, but I sure want to know what it is, for the same reasons as you. I'm tired of copying to Video tape from my Tivo like (DishNet DishPlayer) device.

You will have to do the transfers in realtime. I have moved audio files to my mac using DigiDesign ProTools, which allowed a clean edit of the front and back ends of the tunes.

Scored some fantastic music! Public domain stuff, of course......... http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

8's

kjay
08-05-2002, 10:10 AM
hey c8's,

i'm not even offloading to videotape as my vcr is a p.o.s. and i can't bear to purchase a new one when i use it maybe a dozen times in a year. i have seen on some of the tivo hacksites the ability to hook ethernet up to take advantage of broadband, but tivo allows no discussions/participation in circumventing the analog output or the service. any other OS hack is fair game. now that would be slick, having tivo on your network and just pull the files over.

like i said - i'm not looking for mega quality, just my best bang for the buck. composite or s-video? is there a noticeable difference in quality over approx 50'? just getting ideas before pulling my cables thru the walls.

thanks
kj

kjay
08-05-2002, 10:12 AM
here's some links if you havn't already been there.
http://www.9thtee.com/tivoupgrades.htm http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/

enjoy
kj

kaye
08-05-2002, 11:01 AM
kj,

I don't have your gear but for me S-Video was definitely a step up from composite in picture quality http://www.cableland.com/resources/cable2.html and http://www.focusinfo.com/articles/VQUAL.html though I have since gone with Progressive Scan. k

kaye
08-05-2002, 06:43 PM
Forgot to address your FireWire question. The standard is 4.5 meters. Enter Granite (you know this won't be cheap) http://www.scsipro.com/catalog/pg30_firewirerepeaters.htm for up to 32 feet. because of the quality of their cables.

I would get one of the repeaters with the optional power supply, if you decide on this method. Caution on hot swapping, xlr8yourmac has a page somewhere on hot swap problems frying the FireWire port with bus powered FireWire. So the power supply would allow hot swapping downstream of the repeater, tho frankly after reading about the problem, I don't hot swap FireWire at all lest I discover another gotcha. k

Jazzbo
02-07-2003, 01:31 AM
I don't know how useful this is (heck, it might be old hat for youse guys 'n' gals), but a buddy at work suggested that TiVo video extraction with Mac OS X (http://www.fajkowski.com/tivo/) would be cool to check out.

If there are any questions about the OSX Terminal commands on that page, fire away and I'll help out. There are some bits in its instructions that I'd change a little (though not in ways which would substantially change the operations carried out).

Jazzbo

kjay
02-08-2003, 10:12 PM
Hey Jazzbo,

completly interested. gave up on hooking broadband to my Tivo since I would really not gain anything by it. That link you provided however, got the cranial juices flowing. What used to take hours now takes minutes. mmmmm!

Gonna do some reading now, I'll let ya know when it's terminal time.

thanks again
kj

Jazzbo
02-09-2003, 12:11 AM
(I suppose I may have awakened a monster, but I ain't takin' no credit fer creatin' no monster!!!)

Yowser, Kj!
Jazzbo

kjay
02-10-2003, 12:45 PM
hmmm,

tore through Jazzbo's links. there is hope yet. after taxes i'll have to pop in a ethernet card into my tivo. beyond that, it seems extracting any video in X is not quite there. after reading forum after forum it seems that most people extract to MS or Linux, convert the streams to mpeg, then send them to X.

not quite what i had in mind.

not to mention, the only way to download the proper files to the tivo's hd is to take it out pop it into a pc, and run the proper utilities. doable, but then i have to drive to a friends house to do it. there is a active forum - Tivohacks (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/search.php?s=6d36d3c186db8d0edf9369db172d2c2b&action=showresults&searchid=175136&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending) - where it seems a lot of people are working on this very problem, lack of X software, recompiling software etc. check it out.

the only other issue is that to pull the streams you have to disable the copyprotection which renders previously saved shows unreadable. guess i should fire up that miglia now.

there's hope yet.

kj

kjay
02-22-2003, 11:22 PM
just saw this on versiontracker... tyconverter (http://studentweb.providence.edu/~greyno03/tyconvert.html)

now to get that tivonet ethernet and a backup drive.

enjoy
kj