PDA

View Full Version : external video i/o



heybamaban
01-30-2003, 08:53 PM
I'm interested in getting an external video i/o for firewire. I want to run analog signal and digitize on my g4 or titanium. Preferably using Adobe premiere. I don't need to edit, I just need a way to digitize video and audio together. I need this for professional use. One that will sample in either 44.1 or 48k. I've seen the Canopus, Sony, Formac and Director's cut(?). Who's got knowledge? Any recommendations?

kaye
01-30-2003, 09:39 PM
Some info here http://www.macworld.com/2001/08/reviews/converters.html and http://www.macworld.com/2002/09/reviews/advc/

I have the Canopus ADVC100 and very happy with it but for pro work my guess is that the Formac or Director's Cut would be better suited. Note that both the Formac and Miglia (now) Director's Cut have later models than the Macworld tested models. Go to their websites for more info. Someone who frequents these forums has the Miglia. k

heybamaban
01-30-2003, 09:58 PM
Thanks for the info. Do you know if the Canopus works with Premiere? Can it sample at 44.1? Thanks again

Doc
01-30-2003, 11:53 PM
Hi..

I have the Miglia Director's Cut 2.. works really well and I love that it's self-powered off the Mac's.. Royal pain in the rear when I had to set it up my Dell box. The PCI DV card I picked up doesn't provide power on the bus so I had to dig around to find an appropriate AC adapter

Chris

kaye
01-31-2003, 11:59 AM
ADVC100 Sampling Frequency 48kHz/16bit/2ch, or 32kHz/12bit/4ch and something called 4-channel mixing mode which mixes main and sub channel at 50% each only when going from DV to analog. I've not tried anything but 48kHz/16bit/2ch. I have no idea about Premiere, only used iMovie. k

kjay
01-31-2003, 11:28 PM
I have the Miglia myself and like it. I doubt I'm using it for anything considered pro though. I have only used it with iMovie myself. Just shows up as a dv camera. Been using it to dump recorded shows off of my Tivo/AV reciever and convert some old family tapes. Works like a champ.

The only thing that gripes me about the Miglia is their AC adapter. For some reason couldnt' get it from Miglia, couldn't find it at any of their resellers. Not to mention, the jack on the back is not the most common size. Ended up buying the adapter from Granite (specs the same) and soldering on my own plug. Works great. The only reason I did this is my stereo/Tivo is almost thirty feet away and I decided to get Granite's 30' firewire cable as opposed to drumming up a 30' svideo/audio cables which would have been almost as much.

kj

supersonicfrog
02-12-2003, 04:40 PM
check out www.miglia.com, (http://www.miglia.com) they now have a online store and you can buy power supplies for the Director's Cut from there. BTW you should look at their new HSR product!! Cool http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[This message has been edited by supersonicfrog (edited 12 February 2003).]