PDA

View Full Version : Burning DVDs

casa_lightbody
08-06-2002, 07:35 PM
I have a Dual G4 450 with an internal DVD-ROM drive but what I want to do is burn DVD movies. I have a bunch of home movies, the longest of which is 55 minutes. Do you have any recommendations on what software and hardware I need to burn home DVDs? I would prefer and external burner if possible.

jmikey
08-13-2002, 05:10 PM
casa

I was considering a set-up like you are describing, but for further down the road. I'm no video expert by any means, as you can tell from my current subject post in this Forum, but, I may can help some, or raise questions you need to get answered.

I decided on an EZQuest 120G FW hard drive eventually.....from recommendations mostly, and I also was impressed by their warranty....2 years parts and labor. When looking on their site, I noticed their FireWire "Boa" DVD-RW/CD "SuperDrive" burner. You may want to consider that. It comes with Toast for CD and DVD burning. However, there was this caveat at the end of their product description which may be of interest to you:

* An MPEG-2 decoding software (DVD player software) is required to play back DVD-Video-discs. Currently Apple's DVD Player does not support external DVD Drives. Specifications and appearance are given as guidelines and may change without notice."

That may not be an issue as far as burning the DVDs, but, since you want to put home movies on DVDs ostensibly for playback, that would be an issue as far as your G4 is concerned. I'm not at all sure whether Toast has "player software" included or not. Also, I don't know how much creative control you have over the burn process. The Toast promo says you can "create" DVD content, but does that offer any editing control?....I don't know....I doubt it. It appears to me that the main offering for DVD editing for Mac is, iDVD for $20, and DVD Studio Pro for $1000. I don't see much, if anything, in between.