PDA

View Full Version : Many Avid Quadra Questions

nakadoc
10-10-2001, 10:48 PM
I have the beloved Avid Media Composer 5.6 running on a Quadra 950 with System 7.5. The SCSI card is an ATTO Silicon Express/SCSI Accelerator IV Drive Rev 1.61 HW Rev10.

I have two old Avid 9GB drives but now need to radically increase my media drive space. I am an editor that knows his software but little about the hardware. What kind of SCSI do I have (the connector seems to be the Centronics 50)? What kind of drives do I need?

Its been suggested that I get an IDE bridge – the Acard AEC-7720UW Ultra Wide SCSI-to-EDE Bridge. If I get that, would any IDE hard drive work? Could I actually get an 80 GB Barracuda? Or should I stay with my old school SCSI?

And what about a CD/Rom to import images and sound, hooked through the ancient Quadra built in SCSI. What device is retro enough to work with that?

Please assume I know very little – spelling out what to get, where to put it and what cables I would need. Talking down to me won’t be offensive. But the bottom line is, that I still need my Avid to be impeccably stable.

John Nakashima

ChrisYip
10-10-2001, 10:58 PM
Couple of things

(1) if you use the stock SCSI, you have to get a Narrow drive and they are getting increasingly harder to find - most have transitioned to LVD - The gurus have narrow 'Cudas, I believe. Not sure about your SCSI Accelerator card in terms of what it can talk to (natively)

(2) CD-R or CD-RW - shouldn't be a problem - any of the Plextor mechanisms should work as replacements - I replaced all my 7300's stock CD-R w/ Plextors. Your other option would be an external SCSI CD-ROM.

professor
10-12-2001, 10:59 PM
i work on avid systems,