PDA

View Full Version : so its an 8500?!? it works, ok?.....but

Elvis\'corpse
08-02-2001, 06:10 PM
....but since I put a 450 G3 XLR8 processor upgrade in the thing the video (STOP MOTION ) capture doesn't work....this old computer was perfect for what I need it for. That is: rough video capture, using the Premire 4.21,and/or 5.1c STOP MOTION capture function, typically I might want to capture anywhere from 12 to 100 frames of video.--I'm an animator, I use the thing to test my timing and animation before I finish it....

but now with the 450 G3 all my captured movies are garbled video noise, even though I can see what I'm shooting as the vieo feed runs through the program.

PLEEZE HELP!!!!

MacMikester
08-05-2001, 11:52 PM
This seems to be related to the problem with onboard video display that many 8500 upgraders have experienced. The onboard 70ns VRAM and/or video subsystem just cannot handle the faster CPU and/or system bus speed. Connected displays show video artifacts.

The XLR8 card is probably set right now for 50 MHz bus speed with a 9X multiplier to yield a 450 MHz CPU speed. I dunno but you might try looking at the XLR8 settings chart to see if you can back the bus down to 45 MHz with a 10X multiplier and still get 450 MHz on your CPU with the slower bus. I can't remember anybody trying this exactly in the past. It might slow the system bus enough to let the video subsystem function. Most folks have just gotten a PCI video card since the RAM on these doesn't exhibit the same problems as the onboard stuff. In your case, you'd need a card with video in like an old ATI VR card but these are really scarce.

Let us know how it goes

dragon_x
08-06-2001, 07:14 AM
The G3 processor does not have a 9X multiplier IIRC. It only has an 8x & 10x. The G4 has a 9x.