PDA

View Full Version : Keychain is FUBAR!

dragon_x
02-21-2002, 08:59 PM
I do not really know what this is and I do not WANT to know what it is and further more I should not have to know what it is, but it seems I have no choice.

I am attempting to use the MAIL.app and it insists that I provide a password or term to alter or access the keychain. I have attempted to delete the passwords out of MAIL.app and it looks like I have succeeded - yet the Keychain persists. MY password does NOT work. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/mad.gif I never setup a keychain password. Keychain is stupid, retarted and a bunch of krap. How can I get rid of it? Modify it? Fix it?

Any ideas?

------------------
The Cost Of Freedom:
Every bit of energy.
Every ounce of courage.
Every drop of blood.

Sic Semper Tyranus!

ricks
02-21-2002, 09:42 PM
Hey dx,

I am cussing the same thing right now. The weird part is, it just started doing that and I've been running the mail app for a couple months.

Aweful piece of junk program that I will find out how to get turned off or die tryin. Might drive me to Eudora yet.

Rick

dragon_x
02-22-2002, 01:54 PM
Everything was working fine for me too. My DSL went down for SIX days and now that its backup - KEYCHAIN has freaq'd my MAIL.app. I did occasionally have issues - 'FETCH ERROR' but it always seemed to work - I think this was usually caused when the computer went to 'sleep' and MAIL.app tried to get the mail anyway.

I am trying to use Netscape mail from 6.2.1 - It looks like I can setup mutliple POP accounts, but the smtp is all messed up. It wants to use my Apple userid for my RCN.COM smtp server. Since I need to authenticate this does not work... and the settings seem very screwy.. I did get my mail, but it looks like I am unable to send - so far. Looks like http://www.mail2web.com is my short term fix http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

So is Eudora out for X now? Is it any good?

rwm
02-22-2002, 02:43 PM