PDA

View Full Version : Cheap bastard.......



M.Brane
06-06-2001, 12:46 AM
I am! http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/dance.gif

Is there a reasonable way to hook an RGB monitor to a video out? It would save me $ and a PCI slot. I can solder. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

------------------
Too bad ignorance isn't painful.

ChrisYip
06-06-2001, 01:44 PM
I'm confused (a bit) - you mean you want to adapt a composite video signal (i.e. RCA out) to a VGA monitor?

I think the sync rates would be all outta whack...

Here's an idea - and this is what we are doing in the lab... we just went out and bought some 13" Sharp TV's and I simply connect those up to the video out. Up here they are on sale w/ remote and front panel A/V for all of $165 CDN... we use them to monitor the video output from CCD cameras.


Chris

ChrisYip
06-06-2001, 02:07 PM
BlackBox (http://www.blackbox.com) has an advanced Video Splitter that I believe would work but. man.. $2500?? - sheesh -

They have some others that take video -> computer monitor but still - $1700...

Gad...

Chris

M.Brane
06-06-2001, 07:17 PM
Thanks Chris. The reason I ask is I have an 8500 running ProTools Free and there are a lot of windows I need to have open simultaniously. I have a cheap 13" TV hooked up to the RCA video out, but the picture quality sucks compared to my Apple RGB. I have 2 matching Apple monitors, just no way to hook up the second. Figured if there was a way to hook up one of the Apple's to the video out I could save a valuable PCI slot. If not I guess I'll have to get a video card. With what those adapters cost I could get a Sawtooth AND the Jeronimo! http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/rolleyes.gif

Thanks again for the response!

ChrisYip
06-06-2001, 07:45 PM
Hi...

Well - I guess you might have to sacrifice a slot then (bummer).. Anyways - just took a quick look at eBay and there are a number of ATI cards posted up there..

everything from Orions to VR128 etc.. from 10 -> 100 so I'm sure there's something there that might work....

I was lucky (well - depending on your POV) to pick up one of the liquidation VR128 that Magician had on sale - my only problem was the ATI muck-up with the video capture extensions.. At any rate, it works fine as a display card and I'm using an Aurora FUSE as my grabber so I'm much happier...

HTH

Chris

magician
06-09-2001, 03:24 AM
you will definitely need a PCI video card to use your second display.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif