PDA

View Full Version : Maintenance helpers. ie. Norton, DiskWarrior...

rwm
01-28-2002, 04:05 PM
OK - I am getting another computer and going to spend some bucks connecting them together and so on..........

One thing I have never had or used was the proper software tools for maintenance/anti-virus/running performance tests. I have been using Macs for 15+ years. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_redface.gif I just purchaced Norton this summer and the only anti-virus program I have ever used is a 5-6 year old shareware freebie.

So what should I have so I can keep my systems (and friends) running at thier best. I best invest some towards the right programs.

I have Norton 6.0 - Need DiskWarrior. What else for home use would help/benifit me?
Anyone have a good outlet for DiskWarrior? I can find it but it is expensive.

An earlier post reccommended that we Run DiskWarrior, then Norton, then Disk FirstAid, and DiskWarrior again. Does this still hold true for good maintenance.

Thanks
Randy
________
Honda CR125R (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Honda_CR125R)

ICCAFSN
01-28-2002, 10:24 PM
The use of Diskwarrior pretty much supersedes any use of Disk First Aid (think of DFA as a very stripped down Diskwarrior - in my experience DFA has never found any problem with my drives if I run Diskwarrior right before it). Personally I run a similar set of utilities to what the earlier post suggested when maintaining my drives, although I don't do the Disk First Aid step since I think it's unnecessary.