PDA

View Full Version : 9.2.1 Possible Disk Corruption

billbo
10-08-2001, 09:19 PM
This (1st quote) is originaly from Macintouch.com (I got it via the DUC) but I thought maybe you guru's would know the viability of the "solution" that follows;

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>"I have had some bad experience with Mac OS 9.2.1 and I was wondering if other readers are seeing the same problem. About a week after I upgraded from Mac OS 9.1 to 9.2.1 my blue G3 suddenly crashed in the middle of browsing the web. After a restart the system started complaining that it couldn't read the system folder. Opening the boot volume lead to a series of dozens of messages that the volume was corrupt. I rebooted with my Mac OS 9.1 CD and the corrupt volume didn't even mount. Disk First aid said it couldn't repair the drive. Norton Utilities found several major erros in the B-Tree and corrected them (at least it said so). I backed up all my data, reformatted the drive and installed Mac OS 9.1 and the 9.2.1 update. Two weeks later, exactly the same happened. I did an immediate reset and on reboot Disk First Aid repaired the drive successfully. On an Apple discussion board I hear that other people are seeing spontaneous disk corruption since they upgraded to 9.2.1. I think this is a big problem, as many people will upgrade to 9.2.1 when [installing] Mac OS X 10.1. So I wonder if Apple is aware of the problem.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is a bizarre response to the above:

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I have had the same issue but traced it to a GXGraphics Extension that was freezing the system at boot. Some sort of conflict with iTunes 1.1. Forced me to reboot but the Check Disk never kicked off after this. Disk FA could not fix it. I had to use TechTool Deluxe to fix it. Have not heard anywhere else that anybody was having the same problems.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What the hell???

------------------
Bill