PDA

View Full Version : Insomniac Mac



msmjs
08-21-2001, 12:51 PM
I'm running 8.6 on an 8100/80 nubus PowerMac, but the "Sleep' option has never been available. It's not grayed out in the "Special" menu. It's just not there. I didn't even know 8.6 HAD a sleep mode until I was doing something on my mother's computer and noticed it. When I try to reinstall from the system CD, it still doesn't appear as an option. I'm wondering if the fact that I don't have Apple drivers for my HD is an issue. My drives are formatted with HDST. Obviously this is not a dire sitation that needs immediate correction, but after months and months of wondering, I just thought I'd post and see if anyone out there had any ideas. Thanks! MJ

lasvegas
08-21-2001, 02:01 PM
Sleep wasn't available for most non-powerbooks in Mac OS 8.6. I guess Apple didn't think desktop users would need or want that feature. It would become available if you upgrade to Mac OS 9.x. There is a way you can add it to 8.6 using ResEdit, but I don't know if the code it there to support it.

kaye
08-21-2001, 02:03 PM
I don't think you are supposed to be able to do it on NuBus Macs:

NOTE: Energy Saver is not compatible with or installed on NuBus-based Power Macintosh computers, such as the Power Mac 5200, 5300, 6100, 6200, 6300, 7100, or 8100.

I found that for OS8.5 here http://www.info.apple.com/info.apple.com/te/training/macos8.5/install4.html k

M.Brane
08-21-2001, 06:53 PM
Kaye is correct. I tried to install sleep on my 7100/80. No dice. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

------------------
I started out with nothing.
I still have most of it left!

mactheripper
08-22-2001, 12:07 AM
It has always been there for PCI Power Macs.
My 9500 has always had it, and I've had 8.x for a LONG time.

I used to sleep it all the time. Weird thing is, it apparently unloads Ethernet drivers on some level when it does that, and hoses the "always-on" @Home cable modem connection after some indeterminate period of sleep. If anyone can shed any light on this, let me know.

lasvegas
08-22-2001, 12:11 AM
http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_redface.gif Boy is my face red! I didn't even catch that it was a NuBus Mac. I remember being disappointed when I didn't have sleep in OS 8, but can't at the moment remember what computer it was at the time.

msmjs
08-22-2001, 03:26 PM
Thanks, everyone. My mom does indeed have a PCI Mac, explaining why HER version of 8.6 has Sleep and mine does not. The fog is lifting......MJ