PDA

View Full Version : Os 9.1 and Quicktime 4.1.2 weirdness



filmguy7
03-23-2001, 06:45 PM
Ever since I upgraded to 9.1, when I launch a QT movie... the app window opens, with a gray square where the movie is supposed to be. Then there is a LONG wait, then finally the movie appears and is playable. If I resize the movie, the wait starts all over again. Whatup?

Thanks!
Mike

filmguy7
03-29-2001, 11:22 PM
and the answer is... leave your Virtual Memory on for at least a signle MB.
Ouch. So simple.

kaye
03-30-2001, 11:03 AM
Interesting. I'm still running OS9.0.4 with QT 4.1.2 with Virtual Memory off, and no such slowdown. I did get an overall speedup with one of the QT 5 betas. k

Michael
03-30-2001, 01:04 PM
ditto louie's experience.
M

magician
03-31-2001, 08:40 PM
well...i just tried this, and noticed no problems. I'm running 9.1 on a 9600 with 1.5GB main memory. Having 1GB or so installed results in VM being automatically disabled.

QT just opened and played a whole bunch of movies for me, just fine.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Dogstarman
03-31-2001, 10:01 PM
Ditto Mag's experience with a 9600 G3 768MB RAM. And a Summer 2000 iMac with 512MB. No problems, hiccups or waits.

What's your hardware like, filmguy7?

filmguy7
04-02-2001, 11:13 AM
G3/266 Beige desktop (with XLR8 500/250 upgrade)
384 MB RAM
ixMicro 128 twinturbo card
10/100 ethernet card

the weird thing is that the virtual memory seemed to help a bunch with Quicktime 5 Beta, but when I went back to QT 4.1.2, things got slow again.
*sigh*

I have found some connection to Sorenson and am trying to get the Sorenson Beta 3 update.

Also, trying to find OS 9.0 (and then upgrade to 9.0.4) since I have found some info that this may be more QT 4.1.2 friendly. I need the OT of 9.1 for my internet, but there is an upgrade patch for 9.0.4 that should work.

Thanks for the continued interest.
Mike

filmguy7
04-14-2001, 07:49 AM
Went back to 9.1 one last time... and fix it.
I removed all the quickdraw 3D extensions and the Quicktime DV enabler.
I also rezapped PRAM.

And now QT works.

I am not sure which did the trick and don't care today. I just need to get back to work.

Happy Easter,
Mike

magician
04-16-2001, 01:14 AM
hmmmm..........

filmguy7
04-16-2001, 07:32 AM
by hmmm... I'm guessing you are as surprised as me. I think it relates to the ixMicro Twin Turbo board somehow.
I actually talked to an Apple Quicktime engineer last week and he couldn't reproduce my problem. The only diff was the board.

hmmm!
(or not)

filmguy7
04-24-2001, 04:59 PM
A problem defined...
one extension has caused all this.
Quickdraw 3D RAVE.

When I removed it and only it... everything is groovy.
Must be the ixMicro card?
Who knows.
But in case someone else hits the problem... there it is.

Mike