PDA

View Full Version : installing macos 9 without CD/DVD drive

whizkid042
12-11-2003, 04:12 PM
Hello all,

I am relatively new to the mac scene, but I have been working with PCs and UNIX workstations for over ten years now. I was recently given an older (ca. 2000) iMAC DV that had suffered a hard drive crash and has a bad DVD drive. I was hoping that someone could suggest a way to install an operating system on it without using a CDROM/DVD drive.

I do not have another mac available to me, otherwise I would have tried using OS X to do a network install. I do have, however, a Windows 2000/XP box and a RedHat 9 box on my local network. All I have for the iMac is the System Restore CD that came with it originally.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-- Josh

Greentree_uk
12-17-2003, 07:17 AM
why don't you buy a cheap Firewire CDRW and have done.

unclemac
12-17-2003, 05:19 PM
Kinda tuff.

Yes, you could use an external CDROM. That would be the easiest route.

If you had access to a second Mac you could mount the CD via filehsaring. . .

If you are feeling a bit adventurous, you could crack the case and replace the bum CD/DVD drive, or even remove the HD and image it, but that would take another mac with room to connect a slave ATA drive, or a FireWire bridge to connect your drive too.... Cracking open a slotloader is easier than it looks. The plastic case is a bit tricky the first time, but getting at the drives is pretty straight forward.

It is possible to fileshare between Macs and PCs, but you would have to be able to see and run the CDROM on the PC. There is (was) a great product called Drive 2000 which makes Mac format media (floppies, zips, etc.) readable on a PC, but no idea if something like that would let you do a remote install from CD; you would want to configure the networking first before even entertaining that idea.

Check macwindows.com (http://macwindows.com/) for info about sharing, etc.

Good luck.

Charlie Don't Surf!

unclemac