PDA

View Full Version : Disappearing Drives - G4 QS 2k2

RGFrog
08-16-2003, 04:42 AM
I've been chasing a major problem for a couple of months now and, although I have ideas about the solution, I don't have answers that point specifically to the cause of the problem.

Here's the specs:

G4 Quicksilver(2k2) DP 1Ghz
1GB Ram
80GB IBM hard drive (replaced once by Apple)
Superdrive
MX440
Sonnet TempoRAID 133
2x WesternDigital 80GB Spec.Ed. (8mb Cache) RAID 0 each connected as master to the Sonet card
OSX(Jag with latest updates)
Lacie 80GB external firewire (previous gen.)
Lacie 200GB external firewire (D2, current gen.)
-- 80gb -> D2 -> Mac
Sony DSR30 -> Mac
FCP 3, Photoshop7, Toast 5.2...

Every once in a while, more often now, I will be working in FCP and the program will simply freeze. I typically have to use the reset button to restart the system.

Upon restart the RAID volume will disappear from the desktop. The SONNET card still shows in AP, but the hard drives are not listed. Disk Utility does not see the drives either.

Usually, If I power everything down, turn off the UPS and wait 15-30min. everything will return to normal upon subsequent bootup.

Also, on occaison but not always, I can hear the WD's click roughly five times and spin down (as if going to sleep or deep hybernating) just before everything freezes and I have to hard reset.

Just recently (twice now) I've had to go as far as opening the case and moving the Sonnet card to a different PCI slot in order to get the system to recognize the drives.

At first, due to the clicking, I thought I had a drive that was going bad (much like the stock IBM drive --- pffft). No biggie, I regularly offload content from the RAID volume to the FW-HD's.