PDA

View Full Version : 8500 won't start anymore



dswan
07-07-2003, 08:06 AM
I have an old 8500, 380-somthing ram, xlr8 G4, Initio miles, granite cables, Ultra 2 drive. System 9.1. All of a sudden one day I pushed the startup key and it's dead. Not a sound, no, click, beep light. No nothing. I checked all my connections. I even b ypassed the control strip. Checked the connections to the key board to and from the computer. All secure.
I have replaced the battery before and haven't had any symptoms. The only strange thing that's been going on for awhile is that the onboard video int ermitently won't work. I just used the monitor connected to my video card. I have 2 monitors, one connected to the onboard video the other to a card.
Could I have had a sudden power supply failure?
All my pci slots are filled plus Im using the g4 proccessor.
Could the processor have failed? but then wouldn't the power supply at least warm up?
key board failure? grasping at straws hre...
thanks for your time. david.swanson@fmr.com http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.giff

M.Brane
07-07-2003, 06:34 PM
I would replace the battery. If it's still dead I would suspect the power supply next.

Did you try another keyboard?

blinddog
07-10-2003, 02:11 PM
Had exactly the same problem a few years back with my 4400. Almost definitely a new power supply unit. You might be able to get one, but they may be costly.

I checked allmac.com and they have it listed as part no. PWR-0923

If you're in the States they cost around $200 for a new one or $150 for an exchange, your dead one for a working unit.

I'm in the UK and I took mine to my local repair shop/reseller and it was about 100.

I hope that helps.

Good luck

Neal

dswan
07-23-2003, 05:44 PM
I solved the problem! I just put all of my pci cards, memory, drives etc. into a 8600. Works fine.

M.Brane
07-23-2003, 07:54 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by dswan:
I solved the problem! I just put all of my pci cards, memory, drives etc. into a 8600. Works fine.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hey, that's what I did too!http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

My 8500 still works though.http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So far the only thing bad about the 8600 is my processor runs a bit warmer in there, and for some unknown reason this 8600 refuses to shut down. Probably why I got it for free.

Good to see you're up and running again.http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif..