PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I switch Beige G3 HD to B/W G3?



Wjott40
06-19-2003, 08:20 PM
I recently got my hands on a 450mhz Blue and White G3 without a Hard Drive. I already own a Beige G3 Minitower that has a 8 GB ATA Hard Drive installed in it. All I want to do is take the Beige G3 HD and put it in the B/W G3. However when I try to do this, all i get is the gray screen with the blinking question mark. Is the drive not compatible?? Should I just invest in a new hard drive?

TZ
06-20-2003, 06:08 AM
A newer drive will be less trouble and then you can use your beige for backup.

What OS? if 9.x the B&W may need a firmware update. B&W may require 8.5/8.5.1 or 8.6.

The drive would likely need to have the system reinstalled, it would have different components. Startup from a CD the first time to select the drive.

You can find OS 9.1 or 9.2.1 with OS X 10.0/10.1 package.

If you have 512MB RAM in B&W I'd go straight to jaguar.

BobMcWilliams
06-20-2003, 09:20 AM
All B&W G3's shipped with a OS 8.5.1 CD that I know of. If the firmware on the G3 was updated (to support OS X) you may need to use OS 9.0 or later on the HDD.

Bob McWilliams

TZ
06-20-2003, 09:40 AM
FWIW my B&W rev 2 shipped in July, had 8.6, which came out in May/June. The machine was manufactured in April.