PDA

View Full Version : Lombard Start-Up Pause



picturesnapper
05-25-2001, 12:32 PM
Hi Gurus.

A few month ago I got a "Lombard" Powerbook G3.
After I upgraded to system 9.0.4 and than 9.1 my boot takes forever.
It pauses the booting process for about 45 sec. after the desktop is completly build, eccept the control strip.
You can hear the drive reading during the whole booting process until it get to the point where it pauses.
I have 384MB Ram and the original 6 gig toshiba HD.
Help please. This is driving me nuts!!

------------------
picturesnapper

ChrisYip
05-25-2001, 08:46 PM
Don't know if this helps but check to make sure that your machine isn't trying to mount some network drive somewhere. If you had mounted a drive over the Chooser and checked the "mount on startup" box, then it will hunt over your network for a while before giving up....

it might also be that you have AppleTalk and / or FileSharing enabled and that's tying up your boot sequence.

Chris

magician
05-26-2001, 12:00 AM
nuke the CarbonLib prefs in the Preferences folder, and let me know if that fixes it.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

picturesnapper
05-26-2001, 02:15 AM
hi gurus.

regarding the start up hickups with my "lombard".
trashing the aliases from the serverfolder in the systemfolder did the trick.

thanx Joern.

magician
05-26-2001, 06:11 PM
ah--good one.

i forgot about all those.

you sometimes need to nuke the prefs for the General Controls control panel, and make sure that all aliases etc used in the Apple Menu folder resolve correctly, and any folders there aren't stuffed too full.