PDA

View Full Version : milesu2w & boot problems

bmaudio
03-20-2001, 11:05 PM
System: Beige 233mhz G3 w/ initio miles U2W Card, System 9.04.2 cheetah lvd's, 2 AtlasIII lvd's.
This just started. occasionally, when booting with just the cheetahs or just the Atlases already powered up, the mac will chime, then stay black. After a few minutes the speaker emits a short metalic wheeze.If I shut down, and turn off the cheetahs, the mac boots fine. When booting with both sets of drives already powered up, The startup always hangs. no error messages. If I boot the mac first, then power up the drives, mount with FWB, everything works fine. techtool finds no problems. I have been using this system for 2 years, this problem started about 2 weeks ago.

any ideas?

Louie
03-20-2001, 11:50 PM
Are these for LVD drives all external? What drivers are you using? and cables and terminator?

bmaudio
03-23-2001, 03:25 PM
2 Cheetah 9gig, 2 Atlas III 18 gig... All External, LVD, 2 dual Bay enclosures. All Granite cables & Terminators.

Louie
03-23-2001, 05:10 PM
Does everything show in the Apple System Profiler and/or SCSI Probe? If not, have you tried flushing the NVRAM? Do a cold start (machine off); hold down the CMD-OPT-P-R keys for at least three chimes, then let it start.

bmaudio
03-24-2001, 12:23 AM
Everything Shows up fine. I have Zapped the pram past 10 chimes

Louie
03-24-2001, 12:27 AM
From a cold start? Did that do it? If not, check all SCSI connections.

MacMikester
03-24-2001, 01:16 AM
Are you updated to SoftRAID 2.2.2 and Miles firmware v.1.6?

magician
03-26-2001, 10:09 AM
when you say "all Granite," do you mean LVD-certified TPO, or Teflon?

and are you also using TPO cabling inside the enclosure?