PDA

View Full Version : Cuda button on PM 8100



Jele826
03-09-2001, 03:04 AM
Can anyone tell me where to find the cuda button on the PM 8100 logic board?

Thanks,

Jeff

Louie
03-09-2001, 09:16 PM
I may be wrong but CUDA resets buttons didn't appear till PCI Macs. You can use TechTool or other techniques to clear the PRAM.

bobw
03-09-2001, 09:21 PM
You can download a service manual here;
http://www.accesscom.com/~gamba/manuals.html

trag
03-11-2001, 12:27 AM
The CUDA button has more to do with resetting NVRAM that to do with resetting PRAM. As Louie mentioned, there was no NVRAM before PCI Macs and hence no CUDA button.

You can use a utility like Tech Tool Pro to reset your PRAM, or just use the CMD, OPT, p, r keys at start up, or take the battery out and let it sit for a long time if you want to be really really sure that any storable settings have been reset to default.

kaye
03-11-2001, 12:47 AM
Well, except the NuBus Power 100/120's have a Cuda Reset button http://www.macgurus.com/shoppingcart/obj_show_page.cgi?mbpcpower100.html but the 6100/7100/8100 do not. I know you know that, t.

k

[This message has been edited by kaye (edited 10 March 2001).]

Jele826
03-11-2001, 03:45 PM
Well I'm a bit confused then. My problem is the 8100 is not powering up. Actually it powered up, got the green light and chime and then just shut down on its own and now won't power up at all. I don't know how I can use the CMD, OPT, p, r keys when it's not powering up on start up. If there's no CUDA, then should my problem be the battery or power supply??????

J

kaye
03-11-2001, 04:15 PM
On a NuBus machine with no Cuda Reset button, removing the battery for about ten minutes will do it. However, I think you need a new battery anyway. Radio Shack #23-026, Lithium, 3.6V, 850mAh, $10. Just pay attention to polarity, when you remove the old one and replace it. k