PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading HD on Beige G3 Tower



epowermac
01-23-2001, 05:05 PM
Hello all,
Im upgrading a Beige g3 Tower (300Mhz)and have a few questions.
1)Is it possible to have Master/Slave config on the ATA.??
1a) If not, and we install a 30Gb drive, does the OS partition need to be 8 Gb and the rest 22Gb?
1b) If yes to master/ slave, can the whole partition be 30Gb

Thanks for any help.
Robert

Dogstarman
01-23-2001, 05:18 PM
1) Yes. Louie will tell you all you need to do. It involves verifying your ROM version via Apple System Profiler or checking which graphics chipset you have. This will tell you if you have the later revision that supports Master/Slave configs. It's an easy swap if you have an early machine.

1a) Wow. No. The OS doesn't even need to be on its own partition. You can format it as one large drive with one volume. You can set the size of the partitions if you need/want them in your formatting SW.

1b) See above. You can also leave your OS on the stock drive and use the new drive for whatever you needed to buy it for in the first place. That is what most folks in your boat do. Unless the new drive is incredibly faster than the stock drive, there isn't much point in reinstalling all your SW onto the new drive.

epowermac
01-23-2001, 05:29 PM
Dogstarman,
Thanks for the quick reply.
What's / Who's Louie.??????

Robert

Dogstarman
01-23-2001, 05:36 PM
Louie is a resident knowledgebase. Here is a thread regarding your ROM dilemma. The newer ROM's are also recommended to some extent for processor upgrades to that machine. The ROM's appear to be in short supply...but here is a brief discussion about them.
http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum4/HTML/000138.html

It was talked about somewhere on this forum about looking for a toasted motherboard from a newer machine. It might be easier. Everyone wanted one of the new ROM's as soon as it was publicized that they were the thing to have. Sorry I can't point you anywhere specific. A number of vendors are sold out and not expecting them back in, I hear. They used to pop up on eBay a little while ago for around $50 bucks. Just keep an eye out and ask around. Best of luck.

Louie
01-23-2001, 07:01 PM
You must have a Rev B ROM installed to use both a Master and Slave device on each of your two ATA channels.

The easy way to determine if you have a Rev B machine is see if you have a Rage Pro video chipset. (Rev A machines have a Rage II). You can either look on the mother board or check the Apple System Profiler under video. The ASP will also tell you the ROM subversion on page 1. Rev A has ROM v4.0F2. Rev B has either v 4.5F1 or 4.5F2.