PDA

View Full Version : Trying to add IDE to a SCSI G4

BoB-666-BoB
11-04-2001, 08:55 PM
A Mac newbie here.

I just bought a G4 500 AGP. It came with an 18gig SCSI harddrive. I just picked up an 60gig IDE and set it all up. I tried setting the IDE drive to slave, master, and even the 'default' one, but I still can't get the DISC SETUP thingy (the thing on the OS 9 disc) to recoginise it. It just shows the Mac OS 9 disc and the SCSI drive.

I've tried every possible combo I can think of and still no dice. I'm not a Mac guy so I know close to nothing about it, or any of the tricks you guys might be able to help me with.

I'm trying to run Final Cut Pro 2 so I need the 60gig drive as my scratch disc.

Is there any way to even find out if the drive is getting correct power and such? Any help would be !MEGA! appreciated.

Thanks in advance guys.

dragon_x
11-04-2001, 09:35 PM
Does the Apple Drive Setup software even see the new IDE/ATA drive?

Boot with the case open, do you hear the new HD spin up? Are there any LEDs on the HD that would indicate it has power.

I know some people have BIG issues with IDE/ATA drives on 'SCSI' Macs that have built-in IDE/ATA controllers. I have not seen any issues with G4s though - only G3 systems.

SCSI Probe wont work http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif You need a bus probe - IntechUSA has one included with their HD drivers and they might have a free trial period. Does the Apple System profiler see it at all?
Are any of the drive pins bent, broken or missing?
Even if there is a firmware issue the Mac should AT LEAST be able to see it.

You could try plugging it in to another computer.

GL

------------------
To boldly go where no english professor has gone before! -)

BoB-666-BoB
11-04-2001, 09:46 PM
Thanks for the quick reply dragon.

I'm going to boot it up right now with the case open to see if I can hear it spin up. There are no LEDs on it. The SCSI drive is a Seagate Cheetah.