PDA

View Full Version : need some RAID advice



maximum attack
06-06-2001, 04:33 AM
hello

I have a dual g4 500 and I'm thinking of using it as a DV video editing machine. I'm thinking of buying 2 75gig IBM drives and creating a mirror between them (RAID 0) with soft raid. Is it possible to create a bootable mirrored configuration or will I have to partition some space off for the system?

cheers

MA

magician
06-06-2001, 09:04 AM
well, just to make sure that we're all on the same sheet of music, let me clarify a couple of things.

1. RAID 0 is striping, not mirroring.

2. you can boot off a mirrored partition (RAID 1) in Sawtooth using SoftRAID. You cannot boot from a striped (RAID 0) partition. You can boot from a single fixed partition.

3. you cannot use SoftRAID on IDE buses and IDE drives. It is a SCSI application, and relies on several SCSI technologies. You can use SoftRAID in cases where IDE PCI cards emulate SCSI.

our RAID Basics (http://www.macgurus.com/shoppingcart/obj_show_page.cgi?mgscsiraidfaq.html) article on the main site might help.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

maximum attack
06-06-2001, 09:58 AM
thanks for the clarification http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif and the link to the very good page on RAID. I got the softraid with my VST ultratek card in my S900 but since I only have one HD in there i'm using the regular apple drivers. What sofware should I use then on my dual ide setup in my G4? thank you for your time

MA

magician
06-09-2001, 04:22 AM
i would use Apple drivers there, too.

the latest 2.03 revision of Drive Setup is included in the Utilities folder in OS9.1. You can also get it off our FTP site.

TZ
06-09-2001, 12:10 PM
Have you considered IDE PCI or IDE RAID?
Also, the 75GXP has a successor, the 60GXP (20/40/60GB).