PDA

View Full Version : installation



king
04-16-2001, 01:41 AM
I am certain that the installation of a hard drive in my G4 would not be that difficult. I have never done that before but I'm not afraid to get in there and figure it out. I would love to order from macgurus, save some cash, and learn how to do this on my own. But I also don't want to do anything stupid.
If you can tell me what I will need specifically (screws, brace, etc.) and think I will probably be fine then I will order from you. But I'll trust your opinion if you think I should really have some do it who has done it before.

ChrisYip
04-16-2001, 06:28 AM
You know - I don't think you really need a lot of things.. Simply open up your G4 and look at the bottom - there are various platforms mounted in the bottom designed to house hard drives. Your hard drive should fit in there - the threaded holes will line up with your hard drive. All you really need to do is take the existing cable and tie it and the spare Molex power connectors into your drive.

Just be sure to ground yourself before you delve into it...
www.xlr8yourmac.com (http://www.xlr8yourmac.com) has some illustrated guides:
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/IDE/add_2nd_drive/index.html

HTH

Chris

magician
04-16-2001, 01:24 PM
all you need to install a second IDE drive into the G4 is four screws--that's it.

there is an illustrated MOVIE (http://www.info.apple.com/support/cip/index.html) showing how to install a drive into the G4 on the Apple website.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

magician
04-16-2001, 01:29 PM
oops.

careful.

I just checked the movie, and it depicts the REPLACEMENT of an IDE drive....not the addition of a second drive.

it is still useful....just watch it to learn how to attach cables, etc....and remember that you are ADDING a second drive to the bracket ON TOP of the existing drive.

you should be fine.

just plug in the spare cable and power connector.

the only hard part: make sure you have your drive configured as an IDE slave.

if you look at the top of the drive, there will be a legend showing how the jumpers on the pins must be configured for the slave setting.

that's it.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif