PDA

View Full Version : Prepping a G3 for digital audio

ap88keys
03-18-2001, 02:17 AM
I'm a musician with a 300Mhz Artemis G3, (Rev. 2) 256MB Ram and a 8 gig hard drive (dont have the specs on the drive) I'm ready to get serious with a digital audio studio, but SCSI is out of reach (no SBA loans for us - how unfair! http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Plus at ProRec.com, I've read that IDE may even outperform SCSI in certain digital audio situations. So here's the question - go with a Seagate ATA or is Maxtor or IBM my only choice? and will the internal Zip drive have to go (not that I really need it.) in order to keep the drive away from the power supply (heat and noise)?
Also, what exactly is disk "optimization" that I see on drives such as the Glyph drives? I know they use external Seagate SCSI drives, but why are they (supposedly) better for audio? Especially since I thought external was always a hair slower than internal?

Hope I didn't blab too much, thanks for any help.

magician
03-19-2001, 04:45 AM
optimization is marketing blather for the fact that a technician may use a copy of ATTO Tools to "optimize" the drive by setting mode page parameters for optimal audio performance. You can do the same thing, and actually test yourself whether the optimization really works better for you or not.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ATTO Tools is on our FTP site for free download.

you will be fine with any of the IDE drives we sell. We aren't such Nazi's about IDE drives, as we consider it a more or less disposable technology, anyway. We use whatever we have, though some of us are forming a bias towards IBM and Seagate drives at the expense of Maxtors. You will probably find lots of folks with different opinions here, and no one with a monopoly on truth.

as for drive placement, it depends on whether you have a desktop or minitower.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

ap88keys
03-19-2001, 01:36 PM