PDA

View Full Version : PM 8600/300 D card into an PM 8500/150



toomanynotes
01-13-2002, 10:47 PM
Question: Can I just casually yank my 8600/300 processor card out and swap it into an 8500/150? I just put a Sonnet G4 into the 8600 and was hoping to drop the old 8600 daughter card into my friends sluggish 8500 rather than see it collect dust on a shelf somewhere.

I can't think of any reason why not....can you?

Many thanks for the great site!

TMN

01-13-2002, 11:25 PM
I am 99.9 percent sure you can do that without problems.

Someone else will be by.

randy

ricks
01-13-2002, 11:32 PM
tmn,
Unfortunatly your 8600 has the MachV processor and that takes a different ROM chip than the 8500. The MachV processor will not install and run in a non-Kansas motherboard.

Sorry,
Rick

toomanynotes
01-14-2002, 12:40 AM
Thanks all. After reading up here on the site (actually I was reading up on RAM info and one thing led to another) I saw the 8600 Mach V listed which is what I have (I now realize, duh AKA 300mhz?) and is a bit different from the other 8600 and the 8500 models. That I guess explains why I was miffed the other night at not finding the cache module (just a gapping hole between ram DIMM slots) to remove before installing the Sonnet G4 as noted in Sonnet's instructions. The motherboard layouts in the RAM info section really clarify things by model. Great idea for the site. I was leaning towards not doing the swap after seeing the info here and your timely answer convinced me.

I think this site and it's responding forum members just saved me from a tremendous amount of grief and perhaps worse, kacking up a friends perfectly good Mac!

Many thanks

TMN