PDA

View Full Version : RAID or IDE for audio/video

couroux
06-09-2001, 03:28 PM
Hey all,

A lot of questions for my first posting, so pardon the ramble.

I am an audio artist, just getting into video and have just purchased a
G4 533 dual. I'm looking now very intensively on workdrive
options. (I've already taken the gurus advice and gone for the external
EZquest firewire for storage).

My first project is an hour long. One 75 GB IDE drive would probably
suit me fine, in terms of space. Since I need to have the entire project
on my workdrive at all times (as I work in a very non-linear way),
workspace is an issue. But I have heard mixed opinions as to IDE drives'
ultimate reliability.

LVD SCSI is a very attractive option, and I have had the Seagate 15K
recommended to me by several audio artists/composers...the downside is
that it's only 18 GB per drive. I would need at least 2 for my hour of
video work. Even if I go for the Miles2, the end result still amounts to
a ton of money. But I am prepared to go for it if IDE is really not a
workable and reliable solution in the end.

What is your experience with filmmakers needs and how they are best met
with the current technology?

And if IDE 75GB is indeed workable for video, which is best out of
Maxtor, SEagate and IBM?

If I go with IDE, do I need to purchase an extra card? or just the drive(s)
(one or two).

What is IDEs reliability vs. the built-in 40 GB Mac drive on my new 533
dual?

Finally, if I go for SEagate 30GB IDEs, can I stripe them so that I have
in effect 60 GBs of workable space for one project?

I'd appreciate any advice anyone can offer on these very crucial
issues.

Thanks and keep up the excellent work!

Marc Couroux

magician
06-09-2001, 08:59 PM
mark, I'll let others defend and debate, but in your shoes, I would get the IBM 75GB.

stack it on top of your stock 40GB, and get your work underway.