PDA

View Full Version : Where did my monitor go



Macdaddi2u
05-27-2001, 05:03 PM
I have a Powermac 8500, with recently installed OS 9.1(less than a week old). Last night, it went to sleep and when I hit the space bar the computer whirred right up but no monitor. After unplugging the monitor from the power strip and pressing the on button it came back on. The same situation existed this morning.......Any ideas? Is this a computer problem or a monitor problem. Cant find anything in the machelp, been to energysaver control panel. I am not sure where to look next.

M.Brane
05-27-2001, 11:19 PM
How did the monitor turn on while unplugged? http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/confused.gif http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

What kind of monitor? Why is it plugged into a power strip instead of the CPU? Don't know if that would have anything to do with it, but maybe.....

Macdaddi2u
05-28-2001, 12:48 AM
sorry for being unclear. My computer and viewsonic 21ps monitor are both plugged into the same electrical powerstrip. I let my computer go to sleep. When I hit the space bar , the indicator light on the 8500 came on, the monitors light did not. after a few minutes of the monitor not coming on. I unplugged the monitors electrical plug, plugged it back in, pressed the monitor power button and only then would it turn on. the first time this happened was last night, and the second time this morning. Just wondering where to look to straighten it out. P.S. this is the energy saver sleep, not the special menu type.

[This message has been edited by Macdaddi2u (edited 28 May 2001).]

[This message has been edited by Macdaddi2u (edited 28 May 2001).]

tm311
05-28-2001, 07:49 AM
Do you have the Multiprocssing folder still in the extensions folder? I read someplace last week that NOT having this folder there(IE: putting it in extensions disabled) could cause you not to wake from sleep. Have you tied all the obvious things like trashing the EC preferences and then zapping PRAM?

MacMikester
05-28-2001, 01:38 PM
It's also wise with OS 9.1 to leave the Multiple Users and Security files active in the system or weird (unpredictable) problems pop up, like not being able to retain General Preferences and who-knows-what-else.

kaye
05-28-2001, 03:55 PM
Try esc instead of the space bar. Works for me. k

Macdaddi2u
05-28-2001, 09:20 PM
1st, all the obvious things are not obvious to me, (I dont really know sh*t),somethings I know more about than others,still big holes in what I need to know. 2nd I am assuming that by making sure security and and multiple users files are active, means in the extensions manager, and so the answer is yes. 3rd Kaye, I read your comment on a similar subject in another thread, but in this case it is not the computer that will not wake(Whew!!!!) , it is only the monitor. The one and only button that will awaken the computer is the start button top right on my keyboard. Cant pick it up right now(recent neck surgery) but I have more monitors, I will try to get one up here and see if I get the same results with a different monitor.

M.Brane
05-28-2001, 09:24 PM
Almost seems like your mach. is shutting down istead of sleeping. Can you hear the power supply fan while it's asleep?

Macdaddi2u
05-29-2001, 01:36 AM
Yeah, several times I have turned all the noise in the room off, stuck my ear down close to listen as I pressed the start key, and I do hear the whir of it coming back to life. It cant be restarting, cause the desktop is the first thing that shows up, along with a message "are you sure you want to shut down", not the welcome to OS 9.1 that shows first when the machine has been shut down and restarted.......it has been acting a llittle funny in general, no crashes or freezes and nothing I can put my finger on right now, d*mn, I should have been taking notes.

M.Brane
05-29-2001, 02:26 AM
Is your monitor hooked to mobo video or a PCI card? If your using a VGA adaptor maybe it's the culprit.

Macdaddi2u
05-29-2001, 02:32 AM
Yeah, I am using one of those funky adapters, but if it is to blame, why would it start acting up now, and not when I first installed the new OS.

M.Brane
05-29-2001, 06:54 PM
Hmmmm.... I dunno. I used to use a SVGA but switched to an Apple RGB when I got my 8500.( gave the SVGA to a PeeCee freind-not as sharp & bright as the Apple, but better than he had) My monitor's power cable is plugged into the CPU. Running 9.0.4 & no sleep disorders. Maybe a software problem as others have suggested or bad monitor http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/confused.gif

Macdaddi2u
05-30-2001, 03:31 AM
Well I finally got my 15" Apple scan display up here, sleep and wake settings work perfectly with it. Must be something in the Viewsonic or maybe the adapter did go bad. Guess I am just going to have to live with it for the present........Hey M.Brane, have you received your XLR8 card yet? I am very interested in hearing how the whole setup works out, ie...Plextor, cuda....thats kinda where I am leaning myself...... sounds very kool!!!

M.Brane
05-30-2001, 04:41 PM
I would check Veiwsonics site for any info on similar problems. The adapter I have (still) is made by Belkin. It has 9 DIP switches that you have to set according to your display type/size & wether youhave fixed res. or multisync.

Still waiting for the XLR8 board. Got my 18GB 'Cuda & the Plextor installed & working fine. The Intech HD/CD/DVD Speedtools soft. is good stuff. Simple & effective. Burned a few audio CD's. Need more media. The 'Cuda is moving data twice as fast as my 2GB Micropolis, which was supposed to be a fast drive. All I need now is the G3 and a DAW app. & my little music factory will be in biz! http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Macdaddi2u
05-31-2001, 04:19 AM
The adapter I am using is a viewsonic, it also has the dip switches. I contacted Viewsonic to make sure the dip switches were set correctly and they were. Still waiting for a reply from them though................I would still like to hear about the "Ride" http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/cool.gif after the XLR8 card comes in. Everything you have ever heard about them is probably true. It really is like night and day from the 604 in mine..........when I get the rough edges smoothed out on mine, my next move is the Cuda , I do believe. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

M.Brane
05-31-2001, 08:04 PM
The processor will be here tomorrow http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I'll post an update in my thread (8500/7100 Upgrades...)

My next upgrade could be video. Audio apps tend to have lots of windows, & switching back & forth is such a pain. I've got 2 matching RGB's, just need a way to hook up the second.