PDA

View Full Version : Questions about an LCIII



Diq
05-21-2001, 04:23 PM
About a year ago, I happened upon an old LCIII in sorry condition that a friend of mine was about to throw out the door. Acting upon instinct only, I took the computer, sans monitor, from my friend with the idea of doing *something* with it. While I am fairly naive about computers, I want to get my hands dirty, and felt this might be a prime opportunity. Now, after it has sat in my closet for the last 12 months, I have the time to futz with it, but am lacking horribly in the funds department.
I want to start all over with this machine, and see what I can make out of it, for no better reason than to do it. The OS, according to the previous owner, is shot, and so what is a OS that this machine could handle? I have none of the original disks, so I also wonder if you could point me in the right direction on that front. Also, I don't have a monitor for the machine, is there anyway to hook it to my All in One? I doubt it but its worth a try http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.
This is all new to me, so any help anyone could provide would be excellent, I just read the thread with RebeccaKW and am now feeling frisky with my ability to make anything out of this. Thanks in advance.

Diq

Dogstarman
05-21-2001, 07:42 PM
I just got an LCIII, too! A friend at work got rid of it and bought a 7200 from me.

Our machines have a 25Mhz Motorola 68030 processor. They might have a Floating Point Unit (to help with certain calculations), but that was an option. Originally, they had OS 7.1 on it and I think they can go all the way up to 8.1 but that is about it. Another forum reader might have a good place to get older OS's, but Ebay would definitely be a decent start.

The RAM on that machine can get up to (but no more) 36MB using a 32MB 80ns 72-pin SIMM. Added to the 4MB on the motherboard, that's all we can do. VRAM should be between 512K and 768K (max), which gets you an 832x624 resolution with 16-bit color. There is no cache in that machine, nor is there a place for one. We have a PDS slot, but the uses nowadays are limited. Ethernet might be your best bet. There is no way to use a video out signal from the LC to get into the All-In-One. Well, no worthwhile way.

The hard drive interface is SCSI, and I am unsure of CD support. I believe it is there if the OS will support it. Someone else needs to help me out there.

Hope this helps you out a bit. I wouldn't hope for anything ground-beaking here....but it is indeed fun to tinker. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Diq
05-22-2001, 08:55 AM
In a search of ebay, I ran across OS 7.5 in disks as apposed to CD, should I jump on this, or is there a better way to find OS discs as apposed to CDs because the LCIII I have is without a cd-rom and I don't have any externals that I can get my hands on. Help, suggestions? Thanks guys

Diq

kaye
05-22-2001, 09:14 AM
D,

You can download 7.5.3 here http://asu.info.apple.com/swupdates.nsf/artnum/n11258 and then use the link on the same page to download the 7.5.5 updater. Put them on your own floppies. k

Diq
05-22-2001, 10:28 AM
excellent, very cool, and all throse superlatives. I guess looking in the most obvious places is ACTUALLY the best way to go http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.I don't know what it is about futzing with this machine, but now that I have the free time, I can't stop thinking about it. Thanks K,

Diq

[This message has been edited by Diq (edited 22 May 2001).]

[This message has been edited by Diq (edited 22 May 2001).]

MadDog
05-23-2001, 08:47 PM
A cheap upgrade is swapping motherboards with a Q605/LC475/476 motherboard.

Mad Dog


http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/jollyroger.gif

Diq
05-23-2001, 11:20 PM
If i can swap motherboards with a Quadra 605 (correct?) can I also swap boards with a 605 that has a processor upgraded to a Q 700? I'm seeing a sweet deal on eBay along those lines and want to check it out. thanks,

Diq

Dogstarman
05-23-2001, 11:21 PM
In theory yes. The performance gains of the Q605 aren't that impressive, but with the upgraded processor you might have something on your hands. I am eager to find out how this goes!

Diq
05-23-2001, 11:52 PM
One more eBay shot, is a "68040/25 CPU w/FPU for Quadra 605 & 610" a feasible upgrade? Sorry bout my uncertainties, but like I said, this is me learning as I go. Thanks,

Diq

M.Brane
05-23-2001, 11:52 PM
Keep an eye peeled for Apple RGB monitors. I have 2 13" that are still going strong. They're small, but sharp & bright. I see 'em in the paper sometimes for 40-50 bucks.

HTH LOL http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

------------------
Too bad ignorance isn't painful.

Diq
05-23-2001, 11:53 PM
looks like you posted while I was typing http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif i've already got my eye on a couple that are going for about $40 right now, we'll see what happens.

Diq

Diq
05-26-2001, 11:59 AM
Quick update. I have just purchased a RBG monitor off of eBay as well as a q 605 motherboard with a Q 700 upgrade. Now just have to wait a few days. Any suggestions as to what else I should keep my eye out for? Thanks for the support Dogstrom, kaye, MadDog and M.Brane, this is starting to get fun.

Diq