PDA

View Full Version : G3 All-in-One



Diq
05-08-2001, 12:18 PM
I'm betting I win the award for newbie question of the day, but is my G3 All-in-One a "Beige G3" and if not, what category does it fall under? Thanks in advance

the_anarch
05-08-2001, 01:07 PM
Well, generally when we refer to the "Beige G3", we're meaning either the desktop version that used the same case as the 72/3/500 series, or the minitower that used the same as the 85/600 series. When we talk about the All-In-One, we kinda treat it like it's in its own class.

But in the sense that the internal guts of the AIO is based on the same logic board as the other Beige G3s, one called Gossamer, it is the same as the Beige G3. In fact ,as near as I can tell, the internal guts of all three machines was essentially the same, what was different was just the style of the case and how much internal expansion was available. And oh yeah, the AIO had its own monitor. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Diq
05-08-2001, 02:03 PM
thanks for the help, I can't often find places where the people refer specifically to the AIO, at least now I'll know when they are talking about something that is simmilar to my machine. Serves me right for buying the "academic model" G3 , but by God I love it.

magician
05-08-2001, 04:45 PM
d, those are cool units. I wish I had one to play with and upgrade.

the AIO is a bG3. Same difference.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

PENDRAGON18
05-08-2001, 05:03 PM
Its basically a SUPER-iMac, in that you have PCI slots, standard DIMM slots and a standard ZIF CPU slot. Of course the iMac uses a different board, but you could call the iMac an 'AIO'...

It would have been nice if Apple could have kept making them. Imagine an iMac that is easy to expand and add PCI cards. Now we have the G4-cube, what I call the PRO-iMac http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Louie
05-08-2001, 06:06 PM
The beige G3 AIO is far and approve a much more versatile machine than an iMac. The main difference between it and the DT's and MT's is the case with the built-in monitor. I would never consider it in the same thought with iMac. Also ZIF's go into sockets, not slots.

[This message has been edited by Louie (edited 08 May 2001).]

Diq
05-21-2001, 12:13 PM
Sorry I took so long to reply, but the end of the school year has been hectic as... well you get the point. I really appreciate all the help here, I'm starting to look into doing some serious upgrades (well, serious by my standards) and I really had no clue where to start. Well, now I guess it's time to start window shopping around. Thanks everyone

Diq

[This message has been edited by Diq (edited 21 May 2001).]