PDA

View Full Version : Reformatting and Initializing hard disks for the 1st time

bfeely
04-22-2001, 05:04 AM
Reformatting my hard disks for the first time.

I am seeking advice on initializing and reformatting my hard drives. I know my drivers are not up to date so they need reinitializing, also, I would like to reformat my hard disks from Mac OS Standard to HFS+ to save space as I do have a lot of small files on both hard disks.

My Apple disk is used to store all my applications and system folder stuff. My Segate disk is used to store my Photoshop 6.0 application, plus all digital artwork. I am a Photoshop artist. It also contains my virtual office i.e. invoices, correspondence and such like.

My setup is:
9600/350 with 400/200 G4 card upgrade card from Newer Technology.
9.0.4. but upgrading to 9.1 in a week or two. Current Apple Drive Setup 1.9.2.

I have two internal hard disks and one external scsi device: -
Internal:
1. Apple Hard Disk ID : 0
Partition = 1
Driver Version : 8.1.4 (Apple)
Vendor: IBM
Revision No. 565A
Size : 4GB
Mac OS Standard

2. Segate Hard Disk ID : 5
Partition = 1
Driver version 3.0.2 (FWB)
Model No : ST39173N
Size : 9GB
Mac OS Standard

External:
Panasonic DVD RAM 5.6GB with ID : 1
I use the DVD RAM as a way of backing up my data, which I do at HFS Extended using Retrospect Express 4.3.

Segate recommended I purhcased Charismac's Annubis Utility to update the driver on my Seagate disk because:

Note: It appears that Drive Setup in conjunction with the controller will
only run drives at SCSI ID 0 at full performance over the bus. It
restricts any other SCSI ID to asynchronous operations. This is not the
fault of the drive, as it is capable of much more. The synchronous
transfers are inherent in the drive, but the controller must request them.
We have found that the latest CharisMac Annubus utility (
http://www.charismac.com/ ) can let all SCSI drives operate at their full
potential no matter the SCSI ID.