PDA

View Full Version : CarrierG3/SCSI/USB incompatibility?

Faunus
03-19-2001, 12:14 AM
Hi guys, I really appreciate this forum and bear with me because I am a total amateur. I have encountered a couple of problems when I tried to upgrade my already upgraded PTP 225.
Started with this:

PTP 225 with XLR8 Carrier G3/400 (running at 466)
352 RAM (Five dimms, four are interleaved)
Cache card removed
Miles 2 on PCI slot 1
ATI VR128 on slot 4
Barracuda 18G/LVD connected to Miles2
External 250MB HD and Syquest270 connected to motherboard (for backup only)
System 8.6

I decided to upgrade to USB and a faster HD, as well as System 9. So I got:

XLR8 Dual port USB card
XLR8 scrolling mouse
Cheetah 18G X15

I installed the software and USB card first and ran well. Then I installed the Cheetah in the same chain as the Barracuda and initialized with SoftRaid. No problems here. Then I copied all the contents of the Cuda to the Cheetah and upgraded to System 9.04 and when I tried to boot from it the computer froze. Updated to 9.1 without success. De-installed USB extensions/software/card without any change. Performed clean install on Cheetah and was able to boot, but when testing I found that on attempting to change startup disk (by opening the control panel) I got an error message type 1. I got rid of this by bringing back the G3 card to factory settings, and now I get an error message type 2 everytime I open the startup disk control panel. I thought it had to do with the SCSI ID address of the drives, so I changed it, later inversed the order in the chain without no change.
The problem does not occur when I use the old 604e daughtercard.
The problem also does not occur when I boot from the Cuda with either system 8.6 or 9.1 (I partitioned the drive so I could test this)
I am now working on Sytem 8.6, startup disk was the Cuda, and the USB card and mouse are working again.
BTW, all the testing was done with the external chain disconnected.
Any ideas what may be wrong?