PDA

View Full Version : Software Questions



Richard
01-17-2001, 05:23 PM
I've noticed that my stock 8500 is slower than my Pentium 90 when it comes to the internet (IE 4.5) even though I use the same modem for both (sportster 14.4) http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif. Am I correct in assuming there might be a memory issue here? I have OS 8.?.? and the original CPU and Drive. What can I check for?

bif
01-17-2001, 05:30 PM
Slower how, download speeds or pages loading, just how much slower is it? I'm not sure how to troubleshoot it, but I guess it could be extensions. Do you have other applications running in the background?

Richard
01-17-2001, 05:43 PM
I dont have any other applications and i'm too green to know about extentions http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif The speed problem is with loading a webpage. The same site takes almost twice as long at the same time of day. I'm not familiar with Mac software to know what to check.

Dogstarman
01-17-2001, 05:47 PM
How much memory do you have installed in your machine? Check in the Apple Menu for the "About This Mac" right at the top. It will tell you if you don't know. THen find your application that you are curious about. click it once, and then Get Info about it (Command-I). Look at what the Preferred Size is. If it is the same or close to the Suggested size, just click in the box and increase it about 10% to start. This will work for any application you have. This will allow the OS to give it a bigger amount of RAM with which to play in. What processor and OS are you using?

Richard
01-17-2001, 05:53 PM
I think it is stock with the 604e 120 and has OS 8.something. I'll check that.

magician
01-17-2001, 10:33 PM
I have no idea how a Pentium 90 and a 604e stack up, but other factors to consider include the comparative features of the video card in each machine, the amount of memory allocated to IE, the performance specs of the drives in each machine, and the types of L2 cache on each machine, that sort of thing.

professor
01-18-2001, 12:58 AM
also, in IE on pc you can set the size of your temp. internet file folder. Don't know if it's the same way on mac, but check all of your internet settings to see what size it is set for. Also, see if it is set to refresh a page everytime you access it. As far as the 604 and the 90, The 604 will run about the same speed as a pentium 133 - , depending on what extensions you have on, and how much ram you have. Click on about this macintosh and see how much total memory the system has. That could be a big clue.

bif
01-18-2001, 09:05 AM
You said you were loading the same page. You might look at the preferences in Internet Explorer (Edit menu) and look at the Web Browser - Advanced - Cache. Check the size of your Cache, if it is too small (less than 10 MB) it may slow things down. Also, you could make a RAM disk on your desktop and select that as the Cache Location, speeding things up since the Hard Drive won't have to be accessed as often.

bif
01-18-2001, 09:09 AM
Hold on batman! I just thought of looking at the virtual memory. My wife always sets hers to on and it slows things down to a snails pace. It is the control panel "memory" and if you have the RAM to spare, definitely select OFF. It can make all the difference in the speed of your Mac running everything.

Richard
01-18-2001, 09:18 AM
This is what "About Your Mac" had to say about my 8500.
Built in memory 32MB
Virtual memory 33.6MB used on OS 8.1
Largest unused block 21.2MB

Mac OS uses 11.8MB
Internet Explorer 4.2MB

The information for IE 4.5 said disk cash - 1024k, virtual memory on, 999MB on HD, ramdisk off. Just as a side note I am running 823x624 with millions of colors if that makes a difference. There seem to be alot of extensions loading at bootup but have no idea if they are involved in the performance of IE.

I'l try turning the virtual memory off tonight to see if that helps (even though I don't have that much memory). http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Richard (edited 18 January 2001).]

Louie
01-18-2001, 02:03 PM
That's not near enough RAM for today's environment. I give 100 MB just to Netscape.

Richard
01-18-2001, 02:31 PM
http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Ah, to have more memory. The 8500 was a gift and I am using it to start to understand the Mac OS a bit better. I have a budget for an iMAC sometime in the fall but thought this would last me till then. I'm enjoying it.

Anyway, can IE store only the active page in ram and keep the previous ones on the HD? If so could that speed things up? It seems that increasing the allocated memory under command "I" had little effect.

PS How do you change out that grainy looking Geneva font for something cleaner looking?

Dogstarman
01-18-2001, 03:27 PM
Well, storing info on the HD as oppsed to in RAM will actually slow things down a lot, and eat up HD space and access time. You are better off with more RAM. And to change the font: Usually in applications this is in the Edit ->Preferences menu. There should be a header for Appearance or Display or Language/Fonts or something like that. There will be a few options, so go ahead and tinker with them. Keep in mind that a lot of fonts are not relative to others when it comes to size.

As far as your extensions, go to the Apple Menu and open Control Panels -> Extensions Manager. Then go up to the Selected Set drop menu in the window. Select Base OS and restart. See if that helps you out. Then go back into the Extensions Manager and try to figure out what the heck the things do. There are a ton of sites out there to help, but start with the little blue triangle in the Ext Manager window near the bottom. It iwll give you a brief description of what the highlighted item does if it is available. Hope this helps a little.


Just remembered a good idea...make sure when you go into Extensions manager (before you select Base OS) duplicate the current set and name it something new. That way, you will have a set of extensions that you know at least works with what you are using.
------------------
"The first step in attaining knowledge is admitting you know nothing."

[This message has been edited by Dogstarman (edited 18 January 2001).]

Richard
01-19-2001, 10:45 AM
OK, I know nothing. Could I have a little knowledge please http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
I spent last night playing with the extensions (ie copying them, turning them on/off, etc). I was able to reduce the amount of OS space significantly but did not have enough time to test IE page speed. I'll do that on the weekend.
Thanks http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Richard (edited 19 January 2001).]

Dogstarman
01-19-2001, 11:32 AM
So what OS do you have? And how much RAM did you give to IE? It might be better installing IE5. I have had much better success with that version than 4.5, but YMMV. Hope the weekend brings some knowledge....and some Mac fun!!

Richard
01-19-2001, 11:44 AM
I increased the allocated ram 10% as suggested with little improvement. I'm running OS 8.1. I will try IE 5 if I can survive the 3hour download http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif. I will try the virtual mem off this time.

Louie
01-19-2001, 12:04 PM
You don't have enough RAM to to turn off VM.

Richard
01-19-2001, 12:18 PM
http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif even if I turn every unnecessary thing off? Is it because of an OS thing or does IE 4.5 require the virtual memory on when mem is below a certain level? If not I guess I'll have to check the Guru ram pages and budget accordingly. You said that you allocate 100M to Netscape. What would you say would be minimum ram for someone starting out? I read that a speed increase of around 10% could be had with an increase in mem. also, is NN faster than IE? Maybe I should switch over.

Louie
01-19-2001, 01:17 PM
Macs use more memory for the OS as you add more physical memory and OS 8.1 uses less than a more modern system. However, your OS probably uses half of your available RAM.

I use Netscape not IE. Netscape's minimum (from Get Info) is about 15 MB. Browsers do a lot better given tons of memory.

Turning off VM causes ALL apps to require more physical memory.

Thirty-two MB's just won't cut it in this day and age. In my opinion, 128 is a modern minimum.

Richard
01-22-2001, 09:54 AM
I spent some quality time with my Mac this weekend (after the wife and kids went to bed) and found out that you could run Explorer with virtual memory off and improve the performance significantly. I also played with turning the extensions off. This seemed easy but gave me a bit of a scare. After turning them back on programs like Video Player and IE wanted to be reinstalled. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/eek.gif I found that simply looking into the control panel for the extension associated with the program did something to get it back on track though) http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Adding more ram will still be my best option but for a short turm solution this seemed to work. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[This message has been edited by Richard (edited 22 January 2001).]