PDA

View Full Version : 9500 guidance

emory
01-14-2001, 11:22 AM
Gurus-

I have an old machine, Power Mac 9500/200, 96Mb of interleaved RAM, 64KL1, 512KL2 cache, PPC604e processor. I am a black and white photographer. The machine has worked almost flawlessly for years.
But, I want to do more with it and I need informed help on hardware and software.

I want to install an AudioMedia III card, I have 30 years of analog tape recordings that need to be digitized and edited. The Digidesign folk recommend upgrading to at least OS8.6 (I'm currently running 7.6.1) and having at least 128Mb RAM.

I gather that internal hardware upgrades on the 9500 are less than pleasant (compared to 9600).

Currently I have a SCSI chain with a Nikon LS-1000 film scanner, a Epson Expression 636 flatbed scanner, a APS (Yamaha)4x4x16 CD-RW, a 1GB Jaz drive, the internal CD and the internal 2Gb HD.

I am connected to my printer and a laptop via AppleTalk ethernet, have a little hub.

I generate a lot of files (scanning photos). I store them on CD. What I'd like to have is more hard drive space for working with audio and for storing images (currently I do a lot of CD swapping). I was thinking about a Seagate 18Gb Barracuda.

So the questions for you all:

1) Can you recommend a CPU upgrade card?
2) How much memory? Manufactured by?
3) Would I need a new SCSI controller? (Remember, I don't know what I am talking about, but I figure something might be necessary to direct the big hard-drive.)
4) Do you think I, who have never taken the case of this machine, can handle this?
5) Best to put the Barracuda in the 9500 or on the SCSI chain?

Several people have suggested I buy a new computer, but I'm hoping an upgrade is a logical step.

Thanks for your help!

regards,

Bill

PENDRAGON18
01-14-2001, 01:00 PM