PDA

View Full Version : Installing 2 Cheetahs & ATTO UL3D in G4

Cooker
01-05-2001, 11:16 PM
My plan is to 1. Install drives. 2. Install Card 3. Connect Ribbons & LVD Diagnostic terminators. ( I understand that the drive ID's can both be at "0" since they'll be on seperate channels.) (is that correct? ) 4. Start the computer and run SoftRAID to format and stripe the drives. What do I use express pro tool for ( that came with the ATTO card ). If anyone thinks I'm doing something wrong, or has a better sequence, or any advise at all I'd really appreciate it. I'm just brand new at SCSI, though not too bad with Computers in general. I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE ANY INPUT, CORRECTIONS OR IMPROVEMENT.
Thank a lot
Cooker .... HELP ....

Louie
01-05-2001, 11:31 PM
Verify latest ATTO firmware/flash the card, if necessary, before connecting drives.

ExpressRAID is a nice keepsake. You can use some of its utilities (performance tests). Each channel can have an ID=0.

MacMikester
01-05-2001, 11:53 PM
New ATTO firmware flasher just out, vers. 1.6.3; download from ATTO support site.
New version of ATTO ExpressPro Tools, 2.5.0; download from ATTO support site.

Cooker
01-06-2001, 02:39 AM
Thanks Guys ... MacMikester, I just downloaded the updates from ATTO. My only concern is on the Pro Tools. Will it cause any conflict to install it, since I'll actually be using SoftRAID. Can I just install the program without the drivers?

Cook

Dogstarman
01-06-2001, 09:24 AM
Well, I will tell you from my experience. I run ProTools on a 9600 with 4 seagates insinde...2 of them are striped, 2 mirrored. Everything is formatted and handled via SoftRaid and I have had zero problems. YMMV, though.

MacMikester
01-06-2001, 12:44 PM
Hey Cooker,