PDA

View Full Version : Downloading mac s/w using a PC

elliottg
01-03-2001, 01:04 PM
Hi guys,

I'm very new to Mac stuff, having spent years with PC's and have just got an old Mac Classic running sys 7.0.1 which I want to play about with to learn something about Mac's.

First problem is I want to install a screensaver on the Mac as it doens't seem to have one. I only have internet access via a PC so I followed jagshouse.com instructions and installed TransMac on the PC so I can read and write mac floppies. I thn went to download.com and found myself a nice v.basic 29k screensaver and downloaded that. I was surprised that the download didn't sefault to a particular filename so I tried ssaver.exe (have no idea what Mac executable files are called). In transmac I got this on the floppy disk and editedthe file type to APPL in file..properties.

When I put the disk in the mac I can see the file but when I try and click on it I get : can't be opened ,error type 39.

Second problem, is that I think I'd like to re-install system 7.0.1 as it doesn't all seem to be there (ie can't find AppleFileExchange) - where can i finf a copy of system 7.0.1 - I can't find it on the apple website.

Thansk, if anyone can help,

Glenn Elliott,
London

Dogstarman
01-03-2001, 01:39 PM
Elliottg,
You see, that's the funny thing about OS's. They aren't usually free, except for WAY outdated ones...and I mean old. I know there are places to DL System 6 out there. But System7 is so much stil a part of the vintage market that I can't imagine where to get a copy other than buying/borrowing from someone.

Congrats on the Mac acquisition. I wish I could help you out with file translation and older OS's, but it has been so long since I used System7 that I plain forget.