PDA

View Full Version : Building a Raid Box



Mizzou
12-30-2000, 09:26 PM
If I have a G-3, with an Adaptec SCSI card and want to use 3 mac drives in a box with power supply, open bays...what else do I need? an ethernet connector in the box and of course SoftRaid software?
Any ideas?

Thanks, Bob

Dogstarman
12-30-2000, 10:34 PM
Well, the "box" needs to be populated with the drives and adequate cooling needs to be ensured...so that's one thing to consider. Next, you need an external SCSI cable to connect your G3 (Adaptec Card in your PCI slot) to the box with the drives. Then you need an internal SCSI cable for inside the box to connect the drives. You don't need ethernet, because all your data transmission is via the SCSI card and cables. SoftRAID is one option, and the one most people here will support. But in any event, you need a piece of software to arrange the drives so that your Mac recognizes them in the appropriate RAID format of your choosing.

There are a lot of other things to consider...like what type of drives are being used? If they are LVD (Ultra2 or 3) you will need an external terminator, as drives of that flavor have no termination circuitry built onto the controller boards. What are your plans for the array? There are some other issues that will arise depending on the answers to these questions.

Other than that, check out the "Roll Your Own RAID" pages on the MacGurus' site for a good walkthrough. Happy New Year!!

magician
12-31-2000, 02:39 PM
Bob, definitely hit the Roll Your Own RAID tutorial. It will give you a laundry list of stuff that you need.