PDA

View Full Version : installing memory



gleishman
11-29-2000, 01:36 PM
I just bought two EDO 32MB DIMMs from you guys, to quicken the pace on my Powermac 8600/250.(It currently has 64MB.) Can I install it myself, or do I have to get someone else to do it?

magician
11-29-2000, 01:41 PM
you can do it!

Michael
11-29-2000, 03:00 PM
get up and do your thang!

M

crazyeights
11-30-2000, 01:14 AM
gleishman,

sounds like the gurus have given you encouragement to step into "the initiation". It's pretty simple in that machine.

Keep in mind, that after memory, there are other things you can do which will REALLY speed things up. (like a faster CPU and a Miles2 w/LVD kit, with a 9gig cheetah 10k hard drive. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/kickass.gif http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Do your install somewhere without clutter or distractions, and make sure after you open the case, and before you take your new DIMMS out of their plastic package, make sure you ground yourself to the metal chassis of the computer.

Make sure you seat the DIMMS firmly into the memory slots.

That's about it. Have fun, it's an easy operation.

Best,

Dave

Michael
11-30-2000, 10:40 AM
you can ground yourself by touching the metal box around your power source inside the computer. you'll recognize it because it's where your power cord ends up.

just to stress the point that you will need to push down on those modules pretty hard to seat them properly. so don't be shy to give it a little muscle. of course, within limits. you don't want to break your motherboard.but they can take a significant amount of force.

M

gleishman
12-04-2000, 10:12 AM
thanks, you all, for your help. I grounded myself, put them in, pushed hard - so how do I know if they're properly installed and working? (Sorry to be so clueless)

magician
12-04-2000, 01:35 PM
simply check under the Apple menu, selecting About This Macintosh. The memory should show up there.