PDA

View Full Version : Radius VVS monitor problem



jmoke
07-11-2002, 12:38 PM
I posted this in the "Videophile" forum, but no replies yet. Maybe this forum is better for the topic:

I snagged a complete VVS PCI kit off eBay, and I'm trying to get it to work. Unfortunately, I haven't gotten past step 2 of installation. I plug in the VVS card into whatever PCI slot (doesn't matter which one), then I plug in the A/V breakout connector panel and connect my VCR/TV to the composite video output. I boot the computer up, and I get my desktop on my computer monitor (fine), but the TV monitor display shows part of the desktop with four large rectangular blocks, two white and two black, blocking most of the display area. Here is a picture of what I get when I move a window to the TV monitor: http://humber.northnet.org/mOmO/pics/VVS_monitor.jpg
The computer display is the right side of the image (with the menu bar), and the TV monitor is on the left.

This is not what I see on the monitor, but I took a screenshot after moving to the TV monitor and that's what I got. Funky! I also tried booting up with my monitor attached to the monitor port of the VVS card, but instead I get a vertically split screen split into four.

My specs are: 7500/XLR8 carrier/Apple G3/350 ZIF, 32MB RAM, 2MB VRAM/2GB Barracuda UW on stock internal fast SCSI bus - running OS 8.5 - no other apps installed/stock CDROM/Jackhammer UW SCSI controller (waiting to drive the Studio Array)

I know Radius is done, and there is a WWUG forum for VVS users (I posted a week ago and no replies). If anyone out there has ideas or similar experiences, please share them with me. I'm crossing my fingers that this VVS card works, and that my system just needs some tweeking.

Thanks,
jmoke

trag
07-26-2002, 02:13 PM
It's a pain, but I'd recommend you allocate an evening and skim through the posts on WWUG. There's some pretty specific stuff about what versions of the OS and extensions work with the VVS and it's possible you're using too late a revision of something. I'm also not so sure that it works with a G3 processor. I know the NuBus version won't quite work properly, though it just has problems with the codecs (parroting, I don't really understand that well), it doesn't have display problems like yours.

jmoke
07-26-2002, 02:46 PM
trag,

thanks for the reply. I have gone through some posts in the WWUG, and there were some posts like, "If anyone needs help with drivers, let me know." but I haven't received any replies to my posts so far. It's not a huge deal, since it's just a hobby. I have also seen posts of users running the VVS PCI under OS 9.1, on a G4/466, as well as G3 upgrade cards. I was hoping that some of those people (on the WWUG) would read my post and maybe share some experiences. The funny thing is that I didn't even get to the software installation. I just plugged in the card, attached the video to the card, and re-booted. So there are no drivers yet to conflict with anything. I suppose I could revert back to the 100 Mhz 601 processor to see if that's causing problems. Then I could try an older OS (7.6, 8.1). It's possible that the card was not "flashed" to work on newer OS's (if there ever was a firmware update - I don't know that there was, just saying)

BTW, I got the link to the WWUG Radius forum from someone's post here. Thanks to whomever posted it!

Thanks again, Trag, for the response. I know I'm in for some fun, because there was a recent thread here (long) concerning a NuBus VVS. Tough to resolve issues when dealing with unsupported/EOL products, eh?

-jmoke