PDA

View Full Version : What's the cheapest solution for upgrading my 8500 video ?



Pip
03-29-2002, 06:20 PM
I only use my 8500 for music ( Logic Audio ), no games etc and would like to just speed up horizontal scrolling, screen redraw ( 2D usually, a little 3D). I run a 17" monitor ( although I wouldn't mind being able to run 2 vdu's sometimes) in 1024x768.

I am thinking a card with around 8Mb RAM would be ok but am not sure what kind of card would be my best bet as I don't want to spend a fortune ie less than $100.

Any ideas ?

A used card wouldn't be out of the question either ( eBay etc).

rwm
03-29-2002, 07:51 PM
How much memory or RAM do you have?

If you are going to leave it in that machine you might consider a VooDoo 3000, 4000, 5000. I have a 7500 w/ an XLR8 G3 400MHz upgrade, 288 megs RAM, 18 gig 10K Cheetah and Miles card, with a VooDoo 3/3000. Paid $50 for it. The VooDoo 3/3000 has 16 megs, 4000=32megs, 5/5500=64megs.

I do a lot of internet. Fair amount of 2D and movie clips/trailers. The Video card was the last add-on and it just gave everything a boost. If you are not a big 3Der or big graphic gammer type - this would be a very cost effective and good card. They work great and test good. The cards are no longer made and no X....So??? you can find them. Not sure about support. Any drivers can be found easy.

Tests... http://www.barefeats.com/speedtests.html

Guru posts... http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/000291.html ...... http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/000296.html ..... http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/000312.html ....... http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/000221.html .... and there are more.

Search or read the "Video Upgrades forum"

Good luck
Randy

[This message has been edited by rwm2 (edited 29 March 2002).]

M.Brane
03-29-2002, 08:42 PM
I picked up a "new in box" Voodoo5 for $80. This card rocks in my 8500 with ProTools and Unreal. OWC were selling old ixMicro cards dirt cheap (like $30) but I don't know if they have any left. Of course you know if you have 4MB of VRAM in your 8500 you can run a TV off the RCA video out to extend your desktop, right?



[This message has been edited by M.Brane (edited 29 March 2002).]

Pip
03-30-2002, 06:08 AM
Thanx guys. I have tried running on my TV but seeing as it's a widescreen format the res isn't very good... and also not practical to fit yet another large screen into the studio... roll on sub $500 19" flat screens !!

I'll check out the Voodoo's !!

:-)

M.Brane
03-30-2002, 12:39 PM
I use my little 13" TV for stuff like the counter/transport windows in PT and QT videos. Yeah the res. ain't so hot but it's ok for big stuff.

Also don't forget like Randy said 3dfx is no more http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif so there are no driver updates for these cards i.e. no OSX support. Mine works just fine in OS 9.1 though. Check out Breedens 3dfx page/forums for the latest info: http://www.mac3dfx.com/

[This message has been edited by M.Brane (edited 30 March 2002).]

rwm
04-01-2002, 05:55 PM
Deals all over.... Prices falling.. http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/000331.html

Randy