PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade PCI video card in PM 9600/200?

turtlemac
12-22-2001, 05:11 PM
Hi everybody,
please, does anyone have an idea which inexpensive PCI-based video cards would be the best replacement for the built-in TwinTurbo128+? High res, mill. of colors and 75/85Hz required.
Will a PC card (like Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400) work in a Mac, maybe with a BIOS upgrade/change?
(I am a newbee and no technician at all!)
Thanks for any helpful reply!

ChrisYip
12-22-2001, 09:43 PM
Just about anything I think - Not up on which PC NVidia boards might work but I can attest to the fact that ATI's RADEON PCI boards work well in PTP and G4 Yikes boxes. Folks have been working on making PC video boards work in the Macs...and there was a posting a few days ago about some NVidia boards that apparently work out of the box....

Chris

turtlemac
12-23-2001, 06:20 AM
Thanks,
I had an very good offer for that PowerColor Geforce MX 2 Pro 400 and finally I bought it. Looked up at the Nvidia site where they say the GPU is for Macintosh, too. I will receive the card in the next days.
Discussion in the postings was all about AGP cards, I do hope this PCI card will not have those problems.
Will there be any special preparations for me to do?

(Excuse my English, I am a German guy!)

Boo Berry
12-24-2001, 02:32 PM
Turtlemac, I'm pretty sure that no one has had success using a PCI GeForce 2MX in a pre-G3 PCI Mac.

Here's a thread from the BBS at Accelerate Your Mac on the subject:
http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/001036.html

turtlemac
12-27-2001, 08:51 AM
Well, thank you for your advices. I read carefully the thread you mention (plus other postings).
Meanwhile I could annul the order for the GeForce 2 MX with no problems.
But still I need a video card for the PM 9600/200 (originally equipped exept a new ATA 100 Acard controller and a 60MB IBM HDD). I am also going to get a G4/400 upgrade card (Sonnett, XLR8?) soon.