PDA

View Full Version : Voodoo5 PCI into 9500 -G3



mactheripper
04-24-2001, 02:06 PM
Booyah! This is like, what, the second thread I've ever started? http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

So, inspired by the recommendations of others, I picked up a brand-new Voodoo5 5500 PCI at CompUSA on clearance for $149. They're huge, for those of you accustomed to half-sizers like the TT4MB...

Popped it into slot 3 (nonbusmaster), hooked up the Molex power connectors, and plugged a Sony 19" 420GS into it. Startup good, resolution handshaking normal, looks good.

Coexisting with TT4MB.

Problems: Myth II and Quake3test failed to deal nicely with OpenGL 1.1.2 somehow; this could have been a software thing. I bought Oni and installed it, and it runs beautifully.

I downloaded the 1.1.3 drivers from versiontracker, and they smoothed things out. Oni now allows me to switch quality settings, but quits (softly) immediately after I do so, and the mouse temporarily doesn't work following the choice until the game quits to the Finder. (Upon reopening the game, the switch has been made.)

2xFSAA and 4xFSAA both look gorgeous, with no speed penalty.

2D performance leaves something to be desired. I swear without the benefit of benchmarks that my vintage Twin Turbo kicks its ass in 2D, like Finder scrolling and Outlook Express redraw.

Overall, a great card for the money, especially if someone down the line (nVidia?) updates the drivers...

http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/mactheripper.gif

Mactacular
04-24-2001, 03:42 PM
Make sure you have the latest OFFICIAL 3Dfx VSA-100 card drivers for the 2D. The Voodoo5 should be much faster than the Twin Turbo card. I am using the latest official 3Dfx drivers and the 2D is very fast, definately faster than an old Twin Turbo. Also, make sure you have upgraded to the latest official 3Dfx Voodoo5 ROM, that enables the second VSA-100 chip in the Pre-G3 based Macs. I'm very pleased with my Voodoo5 in my 8600 that will soon have a G3 upgrade, 4x FSAA is really superb in Unreal Tournament.

Mactacular
04-24-2001, 03:44 PM
Forgot to mention, for Myth there is a 3Dfx card patch to play the game on 3Dfx cards for download. For Quake3 I have the same problems also. Try disabling any ATI extensions/software if there could some how be any on your system.

kaye
04-24-2001, 05:42 PM
mactheripper,

You must be missing something if your 2D is slow. My V5 is about 3-4x faster than a TT. Also the OpenGL version, you mean 1.2.1? If you are running 1.1.2, I would update to 1.2.1. k

MacMikester
04-24-2001, 07:18 PM
Also Rip,

Not to be too obvious, make sure you have all acceleration (for QuickDraw, etc.) turned on in the control panel. But, to be honest....the TT was no dog in 2D.

Mactacular
04-24-2001, 08:48 PM
Yes, make sure that QuickDraw or any other API acceleration is enabled in the 3Dfx MacTools control panel, by default the acceleration is off.

magician
04-25-2001, 02:35 AM
doh!

good catch, mactacular!

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

mactheripper
04-25-2001, 02:49 PM
Which version of the drivers is the official? My control panel says 1.1.3, my ROM version is 1.3.6. These are the ones from versiontracker. I will try a search for ROM. I got Myth to run fine eventually. 3D Fog? Hell, yes...

Yeah, I know I need new OpenGL, I'm waiting for my cable access to get hooked up tomorrow morning. Then I'll be cookin' with acetylene. http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Now the best I can do is cough up the bits with my vintage GV 28.8 connecting at 24000. I am pissed that the speeds I've gotten with this modem have DECREASED over the years. It could be just not having Magpage...

Mactacular
04-25-2001, 07:20 PM
I believe you've got the official drivers. There are 1.1.3b (beta) drivers made my a Mac gamer enthusiast on versiontracker.com. Those are supposed to have some bug fixes, but slower RAVE API performance and the possible loss of some resolutions with your computer. The Voodoo5 is still my favorite video card.

despaxas
04-26-2001, 05:13 AM
The 1.1.2 drivers are the last official released. The 1.1.3b drivers do not show the b in the control panel.

mactheripper
04-26-2001, 01:24 PM
Yooooo!!!!!!!!!!

Cable modem is cooking!!! 1300 kbps. I shit you not. Amazing. Versiontracker loads in like two seconds.

Now implementing all previous suggestions...

Thanx.

magician
04-26-2001, 06:01 PM
SaaWeeet!

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Louie
04-26-2001, 11:17 PM
Cable is fun. Mine hovers between T1 and T2 speed.