PDA

View Full Version : Formac ProFormance3 plus 32MB ???



-ebon
02-20-2001, 05:04 PM
Do you have to buy this card with the glasses?
What if i dont want the glasses?
Should i buy this card or should i wait a few?
Does this card work with a G3 266MT?

sorry for the slamming of questions.

-ebon

kaye
02-20-2001, 08:13 PM
-e,

If you want the PF3+ 32MB, it comes with the wired glasses. You don't have to wire them up and you can disable the glasses software in the accompanying control panel. I do think the additional cost of the 32MB version over the 16MB version is worth it. And it works in your G3 266MT.

Should you buy or wait? There is an AGP version of the PF4 coming up but I would not hold my breath for a PCI version soon. The RadeonPCI would be an alternative. Not nearly as fast in 2D, though very fast, nearly as fast in 3D applications, and I have not tested either card in 3D games to the point that I can draw conclusions. Both cards have an updater (I'm very interested to try the RadeonPCI updater since I ran it on the original version, but my PTP is elsewhere) which would probably improve 2D on the RadeonPCI which is about half the cost of PF3+ 32MB. Considering cost, the RadeonPCI is very attractive and a very fast card. But nothing yet beats a PF3+ 32MB in 2D. Macworld recently compared several cards, among them a PF3+ 16MB card. k

Louie
02-20-2001, 10:12 PM
Also, Kaye can watch porno while wearing those goofy googles and his wife can't catch him.

-ebon
02-20-2001, 11:42 PM
well the thing is i would never use the glasses.
they have to cost a bit of money, i like to save money http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.


-ebon

Louie
02-21-2001, 01:16 AM
I've heard they are cool for some games.

Liz
02-21-2001, 09:38 AM
So is Formac still planning on releasing the ProFormance 4? I've read elsewhere that they scrapped it ...