PDA

View Full Version : Monitor fun...



crazyeights
01-12-2001, 04:33 AM
Well guys, you know me.....try it, and if it doesn't work, bail water.

While screwing around with my PTP and monitor resolution, I managed to try a resolution that my monitor can't handle, and http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif: since I only have one monitor, now I can't get it back to being viewable. Yes, I should have just hit the enter key, but I didn't.

The card I was hooked up to was the stock twin turbo. I'm writing to you using another ix micro vid card from another PTP, but this one is one of the low memory versions. When I hook back up to the 8Mb TT, it's still set at the eroneous resolution.

Pull the card in question, zap pram, then reinstall the card?

Any help/teaching is appreciated.

As small as my mac knowledge base is, video is something I know the least about.

I plan to have 2 working PTP's soon, but I need to buy another vid card and monitor or 2, memory and some other goodies.

c8

JayPee
01-12-2001, 11:07 AM
That should work. I've also found that temporarilly moving the card to another slot works as well.

crazyeights
01-12-2001, 04:00 PM
Thanks JP.

So far that hasn't worked.

I'll tinker somemore, but any other suggestions are welcome!!

c8

kaye
01-12-2001, 05:20 PM
C8,

With the card installed, the machine shut down, do a Cuda Reset, hold the little button for 30 seconds, that resets both PRAM and NVRAM. Crank her up. Should be in business, but probably at 640x480. k

Dogstarman
01-12-2001, 05:20 PM
Have you tried just zapping the PRAM without removing the card? Have you tried booting from a CD? Sometimes either of those works for me. Now's the time when we all need to have a stash lying around of spare parts.

crazyeights
01-12-2001, 10:26 PM
Thanks guys....you guys are the best.

I did manage to get my card/monitor back, by again avoiding delayed gratification. I just said "f*** it" and slapped a cheap Philips 17" monitor on it, thus solving the problem.

Oh my God......can anyone tell me how the hell I got by with one monitor before? Next monitor will be something BIG runnin off a Formac or Radeon.

Anyway, thank you guys for your help, it is ALWAYS appreciated.

Damn, no wonder some of you guys run 3 monitors!!!

c8

Dogstarman
01-13-2001, 12:25 AM
c8,

I don't know how I ever got by with one. I can't be comfortable at a machine without at least 2 heads now. You have entered yet another dark realm of addiction. I got a 20" Sun and a 17" Apple running on my 9600. Need to buy a bigger desk for the summer when I get that G4 with a dual display AGP and a ProFomance 4 running my 3-display unit that Magician found.

crazyeights
01-13-2001, 01:40 AM
Yeah, that things the shit, eh? Almost worthy of buiding custom furniture to enclose it all.

Hey, is that Tibet oriented website yours?

c8

crazyeights
01-13-2001, 01:50 AM
I think we ought to put together a raffle. Folks here on the forum can donate various parts they have (ram sticks, CD's, old 604e cards, all of the goodies.) and when it gets to be a real booty, we'll sell raffle tickets for $100.00 or so bucks a piece, until there is enough there, then buy one of those tri-screen consoles for Magician.

I shouldn't think he'd refuse to accept, but if he did, I would humbly step up in his stead to receive the prize. Damn I'm altruistic! It's a tough job, but somebody has to do it..........................

Hmmmm. I guess we'd almost have to buy 10 tickets a piece to get enough scratch....

Dogstarman
01-13-2001, 02:22 AM
Well, the donation thing seem like a great fund raiser for a needy cause. I'm down. I dunno about donating things then buying 10 tickets to get the loot, though!!!!

Tibet site? Nope, not mine. Where's it at?

crazyeights
01-13-2001, 03:16 AM
Oh....it came up when I was doing some quick research for my stupid pun about you in another thread......you know....that I thought you were just too Sirius with PD.

I knew that was the name of the dog star, I just couldn't figure out how to spell it.

Dogstarman
01-13-2001, 11:41 AM
Like I said...right on!! How's the dual monitor setup treating you?

magician
01-15-2001, 04:59 AM
damn...don't even JOKE about buying me one of those things!

I'm still a little freaked out just thinking about them.

multiple monitors are a huge productivity booster, IMO.

schalliol
01-15-2001, 09:52 PM
Magician, we're going to get you one of those that is in the military armored case. You know where the box for it becomes a seat? That will be great when we storm Redmond. . . . Oh, crap . . . I shouldn't have said that! ;-)

------------------
AOL IM: JSchalliol
Computer Equipment: http://www.schalliol.com/computer.html
AV Equipment: http://www.schalliol.com/av.html
Founderof the #1 Audio Yahoo! Club

magician
01-16-2001, 03:06 AM
I think I will have to be in orbit for that one, if only to make sure that I have an air-tight alibi when the Feds come looking for me.

"hey, I was OUTER SPACE. How could I even have been INVOLVED?"

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

crazyeights
01-21-2001, 12:26 PM
Love dual monitors, except for the next issue that crops up....Now I want a large one, (21") and another 17" to replace the pitiful NEC 15"Msync. I hate to say it, but when I'm busy, 3 would be put to good use.

Will 4 run on one machine? http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I'm not sure.....I don't think I'm a cheap bastard, I just spend too much money on the small stuff........restaurants.......there's the one that get's me. I can eat like a horse and never gain weight. DAMN!!, do I spend a LOT of money on food!!! I ought to hire a friggin cook, (with certain aesthetic requirements, of course) Id eat better and still make bank.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

[This message has been edited by crazyeights (edited 21 January 2001).]

professor
01-21-2001, 05:05 PM
did anyone see the three headed monster on ebay, only about 12k to snatch it up. that would be cool.

Tylor
01-21-2001, 07:17 PM
crazyeights: Have you tried the packets of instant ramen? about $.25 each, and two is a pretty big bowl of noodles.

magician
01-21-2001, 11:43 PM
you can run as many monitors on a Mac as you have display cards. In a six slot machine, you can run six.

Yup.

If you use a Rage 128VR, you can also run a small NTSC monitor, as well.

http://macgurus.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif